project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Dynamic shadows  (Read 2946 times)

flexo

Dynamic shadows
« on: May 24, 2009, 07:43:54 am »
Hello.

As discussed with mattn on IRC yesterday I'd like to tackle dynamic shadows for entities in UFO:AI. After some thinking and digging through the source-code - and realizing that this is a somewhat more difficult task than I first thought :-). Still I think it would add a lot of atmosphere to the game... so - here are the thoughs I've come up with so far.

Oh, and I should probably add a disclaimer - I'm not really a graphics programmer. I went through the Peroxide trainers when I was a child - and a few years later I eventually understood them. I played around with the Q1 engine a bit a couple of years ago, did a few OpenGL when I needed it (did a 2D vector render library 2 years ago) but I'm rather new to most of this, so bear with me. This will probably read more like a tutorial at some points. :-)

I'll first summarize the different kinds of shadows one could consider:

• Static lightsource, obstructed by static objects, casting a shadow on static objects. (SSS)

This one we already have - and for compatibility with older hardware, the performance benefits and technical reasons you can probably think of we should stick to them as is.

• Static lightsource, obstructed by dynamic objects, casting a shadow on static objects. (SDS)

This is the one I want and the issue which got me into this.

• Static lightsource, obstructed by dynamic objects, casting a shadow on dynamic objects. (SDD)

This would also be very nice to have, and wanting it ruled out projected shadows for me (shadow receiver ordering issues).

• Dynamic lightsource, obstructed by static/dynamic objects, casting a shadow on static/dynamic objects. (DXX)

Well, this would be nice to have, and when the former is done this should be easy to add, but it's not what I'm focussing on right now.