project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Running the game for the first time, missing SDL components.  (Read 5448 times)

Offline njt1982

• Cannon Fodder
    • View Profile
Running the game for the first time, missing SDL components.
« on: January 03, 2011, 04:48:36 pm »
Hi guys - first post here.

Some background:
  • I loved the original games and got as excited as a little girl at a boy-band concert when I saw this project! ;-)
  • I'm running OS X 10.6.5 on a 4 year old Mac Book Pro (2.33Ghz Core 2 Duo, 3Gb 667Mhz DDR2 SDRAM, ATI Radeon X1600 256Mb running at 1680x1050 32Bit, 500Gb WD Hard Disk, UFO installed on /Volumes/Data/Mac Games/UFOAI.app/)

While downloading the game I realised I might need the SDL components. I have XCode installed already (I'm an experienced Drupal web developer by trade/hobby and wanted to play with iPhone mobile sites) so thought I'd give running it a go anyway, but no luck. It complained that SDL Image was missing.

So this is what I did to get it to load...

First I downloaded some SDL Libraries...
a) Download SDL Runtime Library from here (not 100% sure this is needed, but it was only 800Kb!): http://www.libsdl.org/download-1.2.php
b) Download SDL_image Binary from here: http://www.libsdl.org/projects/SDL_image/

Then I opened the downloaded SDL DMG's and copy the SDL.framework and SDL_image.framework into the /Libaray/Frameworks/ folder.

On the next run, it appears the compiled binary was looking in /opt/local/Library/Frameworks which didn't exist for me... so I opened Terminal and ran the following:
Code: [Select]
$ sudo mkdir -p /opt/local
$ sudo ln -s /opt/local/Library /Library/
The mkdir makes sure that both opt and local exist. The "ln -s" symlinks a Library folder within /opt/local/ to the Libaray folder in the root (where we put the SDL*.framework stuff).

So I tried again, but this time it complained about SDL_mixer... so I added a (c) to the download list above...