project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Looks good, but not exactly fun  (Read 11422 times)

sjm

Looks good, but not exactly fun
« on: August 20, 2006, 04:28:00 am »
Well, I downloaded 2.0RC3 installed it an loaded up the game. The UI looks great. I especially liked the models of your recruits when you get to equip them. The 3D combat view is also groovy!

But It's not all plain sailing. The biggest problem is the difficulty, which means that I'm not going to go back to the game after messing around with it for a couple of hours. You really, really (REALLY) need to tone it down A LOT. I played the first mission twice on the easiest level. The first time I managed to kill 1 alien. The second time I managed to hit 2 aliens and kill none. I'm a veteran of all the X-COM games, and none of them were even close to this difficult on the easiest setting.

It's important to give new players the chance to get into the game and give them a feeling of success. It's no fun if hitting an alien 7 times produces no result, but a single alien can pop around the corner and wipe out several of your agents with a single burst of his ray gun (or whatever it is).

The fundamental problems are:
Weapons: the human weapons are either horribly underpowered, or the alien weapons vastly overpowered. In all the X-com games, despite the aliens having superior technology, the human weapons were relatively effective at the start, and it took a while before the aliens appeared with their big guns. As long as you concentrated your fire and had the numerical advantage (and took cover), you could overcome the technological disadvantage. Aliens were not able to wipe out several agents with a single burst at the start. Insta-death is never good for gameplay anyway(!).