project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Volunteering  (Read 11219 times)

courier

Volunteering
« on: April 29, 2008, 04:51:35 pm »
Hi, I'm an experienced coder with a few dozen thousand lines of C under my belt (a touch rusty, but it's not like C's changing much) and an abiding love for the X-Com games (I even loved Apocalypse, which I think was much better than its reputation); I'd love to help out with coding if there are coding tasks to be done.

The big caveats are that I have no graphics or 3D experience at all -- my code has always been backend and middleware stuff, even down to the kernel level -- so I'm probably not of much use for the shiny bits of the project.

I'm still in the midst of my first play-through of the game (I'll be sure to submit bugs I run across!) but am loving it immensely.

I've read the TODO list, and will have the code up and compiling on my Mac soon.  Does anyone have a particular project that might be suitable for someone just acquainting himself with the code, or shall I just pick something from the TODO?

Offline BTAxis

• Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
    • View Profile
Re: Volunteering
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 05:23:00 pm »
Not immediately related to coding, I think we need someone to make mac dmgs. See the news page.

courier

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2008, 06:35:24 pm »
Sure, I can look into that this evening, maybe get the compiles running overnight.

By the way -- since I have a parallel build going on Debian -- the instructions for Debian say: 
"WARNING: Some music is not included in SVN trunk (because of their license restrictions). You have to download it manually from the UFOAI homepage and decompress it to base/music folder."

Is this correct, and if so is there a link for the download, and does this apply to the other platforms as well? (It's not mentioned on the page for the Mac build)

Offline Mattn

• Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile