Development > Coding

Using cmake to setup build env

(1/11) > >>

hwoarangmy:
Hello,

First, thanks again for this great game. I've played 2.5 a year ago (finished it in normal) and I've recently started a new campaign to try 2.6 in hard mode and it seems you have done some great work. I will give you some more feedback when I will have played a little bit more.

I've recently downloaded the code source from github and compiled it (at least game, ifo2map, ufoed and ufo). Have you ever considered using cmake ?
Would you be interested in using it ?
If yes, I'm not a cmake expert but I can give a try ^^

DarkRain:
Hi,

Glad you are enjoying the game, and sure if you could get cmake working that would be very nice :)

anonymissimus:
I've done a little research regarding cmake at some point, it's likely a lot of work. Stackoverflow has some valuable info.
cmake would allow generating an MSVC project file, as it seems the ability to compile with MSVC was present some time way in the past and then got lost due to nobody maintaining it. That is bad, since it should have a positive effect on code stability if you're able to compile and/or debug using various tools, and developer interest can rise.

hwoarangmy:
Well, actually, it was easier than I expected. I choose to not use a bundle for dependencies to try the latest versions I can find. Note that I use code blocks with MinGW64.
ATM, I can build every project excepted uforadiant because it needs gtk. I've downloaded gtk dev libraries but it seems an older version is used in this project as I get errors complaining that only gtk/gtk.h should be included (from what I've seen, many files here include gtkwidget or only what they need - which seems not the way to do in the new version).
Because of that, I've downloaded ufoai codeblocks zip to get the includes and libraries used in the project (since I cannot use the latest version, the easier is to use this one).