project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Using cmake to setup build env  (Read 26859 times)

Offline hwoarangmy

• Rookie
    • View Profile
Using cmake to setup build env
« on: August 06, 2015, 10:34:31 pm »
Hello,

First, thanks again for this great game. I've played 2.5 a year ago (finished it in normal) and I've recently started a new campaign to try 2.6 in hard mode and it seems you have done some great work. I will give you some more feedback when I will have played a little bit more.

I've recently downloaded the code source from github and compiled it (at least game, ifo2map, ufoed and ufo). Have you ever considered using cmake ?
Would you be interested in using it ?
If yes, I'm not a cmake expert but I can give a try ^^

Offline DarkRain

• Project Coder
  • Captain
    • View Profile
Re: Using cmake to setup build env
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 04:16:26 am »
Hi,

Glad you are enjoying the game, and sure if you could get cmake working that would be very nice :)

Offline anonymissimus

• Sergeant
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2015, 04:49:58 pm »
I've done a little research regarding cmake at some point, it's likely a lot of work. Stackoverflow has some valuable info.
cmake would allow generating an MSVC project file, as it seems the ability to compile with MSVC was present some time way in the past and then got lost due to nobody maintaining it. That is bad, since it should have a positive effect on code stability if you're able to compile and/or debug using various tools, and developer interest can rise.

Offline hwoarangmy

• Rookie
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2015, 10:34:45 pm »
Well, actually, it was easier than I expected. I choose to not use a bundle for dependencies to try the latest versions I can find. Note that I use code blocks with MinGW64.