project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: How to dive into the source code on Linux.  (Read 5155 times)

madrsihands

How to dive into the source code on Linux.
« on: March 08, 2015, 08:42:47 pm »
Now that I finished building my new AMD computer I'm ready to tinker with UFO AI.  I have some non-traditional programming experience, but I'd rather get my hands wet with direct experience by fiddling with the source code.

I see a lot of Quake tutorials online, but they run the gamut from basic engine coding to mapping to character design to texturing.  What's more annoying is most of these tutorials have been written for Windows, where as I'm a Linux user.  Even though I've been using Linux for like six years now, I still feel like a noob as just the root directory structure seems mysterious to me.  With that I'd like to ask where one starts modifying the UFO AI source code and can begin understanding how to contribute to the project, from a Linux point of view.

For instance, how can I model, texture, and import a new character designs into the game?  Can you use Blender to modeling?  How can I add new character animations to the game?  How do you guys pace yourself with polygon counts and bit-map sizes?  I'm going to try fiddling with the Radiant engine you suggest for building maps, though is their a good tutorial for Linux users about how to install and get it running?  How do you interface Radiant with the game to import new maps? 

Also specifically, is all the operating source code for UFO AI in its extracted directory or does it download extra files to /bin, /usr and/or /lib?  In other words could I just manipulate files in its extracted directory to reprogram the game, or do I have to go somewhere else in my directory tree to do this?  Does something else somewhere have to be updated to do this?

Offline DarkRain

• Project Coder
  • Captain
    • View Profile
Re: How to dive into the source code on Linux.
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2015, 05:49:47 pm »