project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.  (Read 2535 times)

Offline Gil

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« on: November 25, 2013, 02:11:38 am »
Mansion map battle-scape is being hanged with a message "please wait" - which never go away..
mouse stuck - keyboard input non-responsive.

Behavior:
1. The map was loaded.
2. The briefing pane showed.
3. I could move and explore the map with keyboard and mouse when it has focus on the map.
4. upon clicking the ok button on the briefing panel - the "Please Wait" message in red appeared.
5. Game Frozen.

Is reproducible: Yes.
Data from game console consisted two warnings of invalid tiles in the map before it is stuck.

Attached Save Game File.
Instructions: just open and run time fast, no need to make any changes
- Herakless craft will get there with 12 soldiers.

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 12:58:59 am »
Hi Gil !

How many minutes is 'forever' ?
How fast is your hardware ?
How long does it take to load 'mansion huge' in skirmish mode ?

Offline Gil

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2013, 01:51:30 am »
Hi Duke,

1. It is not delaying - It is being completely frozen/ unresponsive.
(more than 10 mins and app remained "not-responding")

2. Windows7x64, quad core, GTX 275 Video Card, 4GB Ram.

3. a second or two.


Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2013, 02:25:19 am »
Ok, just needed to check if you're not too impatient ;) Some players are, you know...

Testing now...

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2013, 03:10:15 am »
Confirmed.

And I managed to work around it by returning to base, reduce soldiers to 8 and go back to the mansion.
==> not enough spawnpoints. There should be a different errormessage (and certainly no hang up).

- Plz file a bug report in our tracker
- you may want to try with 9-11 soldiers
- are you on git or nightly ? 2.5 or master ?


Offline Gil

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2013, 10:15:52 am »
Duke,

- Thank you.
- I installed from what suppose to be a "stable" version of 2.5 - not nightly builds as best as I remember.
- Bug report filed to tracker.

I wonder if there is anyway to add spawn points to the map and upload it here.. if that works well you can attach the new map to bug in the tracker..

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2013, 11:44:48 am »
If you have a working UFOradiant (I don't), it's not very hard. Even I could do it once upon a time.
But first *count* them in the tile 'main'+'small' to verify that my theory is right.

Offline Gil

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2013, 02:21:55 pm »
nope.. the radiant editor is not working.. :'(
I can see the process but no app showing..

Look Duke,
This game is 80% of the games I play in my spare time.
I cant check every mission if this is the map that will hang on me or not!
So, if this continues.. I'd have to join the effort and code too >:(
And I prefer working with MS technologies - I do not want to go back 25 years to C++..
That will make me upset and wife will be angry about me being upset and kids will be upset with wife upsetting with me and that could end up in a broken family.. and if my family is broken I will turn into a criminal - probably a V type without the agenda. that can bring an end to this world as we know it.

So.. how do we solve this issue with the map? :-\

Offline ShipIt

  • Project Artist
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 906
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2013, 04:05:13 pm »
So.. how do we solve this issue with the map? :-\

A good start would be attaching the log file, which contains usefull information about the map. I need this, because our current dev version crashes at startup, so I cannot test using your savegame.

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2013, 04:32:52 pm »
Hehehe...oc I can't let you turn into a criminal. Usually I couldn't care less if you lived in or near Redmont as I first thought. But as you seem to live in the same timezone as me ... who knows.
And I will not comment on that 25 years thing. For religious questions there are other forums available ;)

So what to do ?
1. I will call for help on IRC tonight. Maybe one of the linux guys still has radiant up and running.
2. If you still have a savegame from before the mission is created, you could exclude "mansion small" from the campaign by setting "campaign true" in maps.ufo.

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2013, 04:37:23 pm »
@Gil: the cavalry has arrived :)

@ShipIt: good to see you again :) master does NOT crash here, but I can imagine what's the problem with your installation. Does your uforadiant work ? Can we meet on IRC ?

Offline Gil

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2013, 06:17:58 pm »
Hi Shipit,

1. Can you upload the fixed map in this thread - I can check it and confirm it for you.
2. I can't attach the log file as it is more than 8192kb.. So I truncated the top information of the log and prepared a more relevant log file for you to view.


Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2013, 08:30:13 pm »
I tested shipit's fix with your savegame and it works :)
The fix is in the repo, masterbranch.

I attached the changed maptile, but you'll have to compile it first, using ufo2map.

Offline DarkRain

  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2013, 06:08:12 am »
Or you can try downloading it from the precompiled maps repository mansion_small.bsp.gz

Offline Mattn

  • CaveExpress
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4830
  • www.caveproductions.org
    • View Profile
    • CaveExpress
Re: Bug in Mansion Map with 12 soldiers and a corruptor UFO.
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2013, 11:08:57 am »
i've cherry-picked the fix into the 2.5 branch, too