project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Desktop Shortcut  (Read 1878 times)

Offline Wolls

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Desktop Shortcut
« on: January 22, 2013, 10:22:07 pm »
Is there any kind of command parameter one could add after ufo.exe that would load an existing mod? (within the main/mods/ directory)

It feels kinda silly, loading the base (main) first then having to activate the mod, load again.. when I could just put the mod changes into the base dir, and only load once. (I have an older/mucho slow com and I swear this double loading is killing me)

I really like the separation of the mods folder, its much cleaner, just looking for a way to pre-load it. (and save some time   :D)

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop Shortcut
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2013, 10:37:55 pm »
+set fs_gamedir [mod directory]

Offline Sandro

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
  • Maintenance guy for UFO:AI 3D engine
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop Shortcut
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2013, 10:40:14 pm »
ufo.exe +fs_mod modname

Offline Sandro

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
  • Maintenance guy for UFO:AI 3D engine
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop Shortcut
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2013, 10:43:51 pm »
+set fs_gamedir [mod directory]

That is for full-mod (complete content replacement), no?

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop Shortcut
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2013, 12:16:37 am »
That is for full-mod (complete content replacement), no?

I think it loads /base/ and then the mod folder. Not sure if it still works the same since mattn implemented the mods ui.

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2539
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop Shortcut
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2013, 12:44:35 am »
I think it loads /base/ and then the mod folder. Not sure if it still works the same since mattn implemented the mods ui.

The feature works, and can load our official mods.

-geever

Offline Wolls

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop Shortcut
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2013, 06:07:57 am »
 :)   Ah, great!
  Thank you to all of you.   :)

I timed it, 82 seconds to load! (At least the music kicks in at around 12 seconds... so only 70 seconds of staring at a blank screen!!)
« Last Edit: January 24, 2013, 04:34:12 am by Wolls »