project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Base Defence  (Read 11079 times)

Offline Spyda665

• Cannon Fodder
    • View Profile
Base Defence
« on: June 10, 2011, 02:41:39 pm »
So Im pretty new to UFO-AI but enjoyed it as i started to get into it. Then Terror struck!! My first base defence!!! Even with the SAM sights, and Base defences i was under attack =ARGH= ... What to do ...

First thing i noticed was my "regular" soldiers, that i had stationed on my firebird had been replaced with backup "unarmed" soldiers i had in my base, and with this being pretty early on in the game i didnt have enough primary or heavy weapons to equip them, Just secondary SMG's, Pistols etc. Now as you imagine, this mission didnt go terribly well. Firstly it took me around bout 30 minutes before i ran into an alien, Then (My soldiers all being nubs) couldnt even hit one! Then ... they died. I tried again with the same consiquences, so as you can probably guess i stopped playing and havent gone back to it yet. So i thought i would make a small post with a few ideas i had about making the base defence missions a little more exciting / Fun and playable specially for early on in the game.

Now before i start i know alot of people probably dont have much in the way of a problem with base missions, as they've been playing a while and know alien tactics and entrances / exits etc, and can pretty much get through these missions unscathed, but as a new player to UFO-AI i dont, and having your missions last what seems like an eternity only to end up dead is offputting, so im making these points as a Nub. Oh, and i was playing the game on easy which makes it even more annoying that i couldt complete a single mission lol

Base: So first off the base is ginormous. Now if it was only underground structures that would be fine, but as theres underground and overground its pretty much impossible to cover the area with a squad of 8. I think even banks have more security guards!