project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Can't start mission, game stops responding  (Read 10034 times)

Offline Duregar

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Can't start mission, game stops responding
« on: August 28, 2012, 02:48:51 pm »
Hello,

My problem is as follows: I send my squad to the mission site then click enter and ... that's all. Game stops responding.
Nothing goes black/white, music does not stop to play but the game is just frozen. Task manager shows that it had stopped responding.

I've tried stable version 2.4 and dev. version 2.5 and both gave the same result. I've redownloaded and reinstalled the game few times. Cleared registry each time with CCleaner to be sure. Still it doesn't work.  Though I've tried on different PC and there it worked just fine.

My PC:
System: Win7 64bit
Processor: Intel Core I5 2500K
Graphic card: GeForce GTX 670
RAM: 2x4GB

In attachment there is ufoconsole.log from v2.5. It seems it's incomplete (as I've checked ufoconsole.log generated by working game). Right now I don't have ufoconsole.logs from v2.4 as I've deleted them but they were even shorter then the one from v2.5 (Didn't see in then "XML Written to buffer (91072 Bytes)" or anything after it)

If there's some information missing then I will try to provide it. Just let me know.

I hope that you will be able to find solution for my problem.

Offline Sandro

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
  • Maintenance guy for UFO:AI 3D engine
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 04:46:49 pm »
Alas, file is truncated too early, nothing useful. Try running game with +logifile 2 parameter, it should prevent truncation (i.e. "ufo.exe +logfile 2").

Offline Duregar

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, 05:19:00 pm »
I've tried two different methods (as I haven't been sure if the first had been correct):

1. Added +logfile 2 in target (r. click on shortcut -> properties -> target)
2. Typed logfile 2 into console (as said here: http://ufoai.org/forum/index.php/topic,6534.msg51211.html#msg51211)

The result is, as seen in attachment, not good.

Offline Duregar

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2012, 10:22:44 pm »
I've installed it on my other computer:

System: Windows XP 32bit (HDD formatted today and today installed system so it's fresh ;p)
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Graphic card: GeForce GT 440
RAM: 2x4GB

and to my surprise the game DIDN'T work. The same problem as described in the first post: Game starts normally, campaign starts as it should, I send squad on the mission, window pops out where I can enter, auto-resolve (I think that it's called that way) or cancel mission. I click enter and game stops responding ...

Both computers have installed:
Nvidia driver: 301.42

Any idea what may be wrong? I would really appreciate help.

Offline Sandro

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
  • Maintenance guy for UFO:AI 3D engine
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2012, 10:46:55 pm »
That seems to become really strange then. I was going to ask you to try in on XP 32-bit (that is the version I've got on my dev machine), but if it fails in that condition -- only guess could be that you somehow trying to compile a broken (sub)version (that happens from time to time), or you managed to create a some sort of data layout which confuses UFO:AI

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2012, 07:24:44 am »
do you have sound disabled? if yes, please try to activate it, i've just fixed a segfault that happened if you are running the game with disabled sounds.

Offline Duregar

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2012, 10:18:41 am »
I do not have sound disabled.
I've tried to install the game in default directory, still doesn't work.

Anyone uses Nvidia 301.42 video drivers?
Anyone uses quad core processor?


I'm asking those questions because (as mentioned in the first post) I've tried on PC:

System: Windows XP 32bit
Processor: AMD Athlon II x2 260
Graphics card: Radeon HD 5450
RAM: 2x2GB

and there the game worked. Unfortunately that computer is not mine so it's out of question to play the game on it.


Nokim

  • Guest
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2012, 11:05:47 am »
Anyone uses Nvidia 301.42 video drivers?
Anyone uses quad core processor?

I'm using quad-core AMD A8-3500M - all works fine. At least nothing CPU related. But i'm using Linux and hadn't succeed in launching game under Windows 7 x64 (seems like it doesn't like my integrated video with disabled discrete videocard).

What if check dll dependences of game.dll? Maybe something lacks.

Offline Duregar

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2012, 04:05:00 pm »
It WORKS!

I managed to find what was causing a problem:
User's folder and to be precise its name. I was using polish character "ł" in it. I've formatted system (as I didn't want to create another user) and named it with "l" instead of "ł". It was that simple ...

I would like to thank you all for your help and advices, I really appreciate them.

And now finally to play the game :)

Offline Dawn

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2012, 06:24:35 pm »
I think i have the same Prolem where do i find the User folder?

Offline ShipIt

  • Project Artist
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 906
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2012, 07:45:29 pm »
I think i have the same Prolem where do i find the User folder?

Here.

Offline Yanglegend

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2012, 06:40:49 pm »
Got same problem, but i can't rename this folder, cause system don't let me. Any ideas, how to fix this ?

Win32 XP here

Offline del_piero

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2013, 05:31:20 pm »
Heh, I have the same problem and also a polish letter in windows username. Creating a new user should resolve that I suppose, but would be nice if the bug was fixed. Maybe this note should be added to some FAQ.

Offline del_piero

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2013, 03:06:18 pm »
Ok here is the workaround I've just confirmed. Creating new profile under win xp with only English letters totally works. Changing profile name only, doesn't work as the name gets changed not the file path of the current profile. So just make a new one, you don't have to reinstall your system.

My request to the admins. Please include this tip in a FAQ, as this simple workaround solves the problem completely. Cheers!

Offline DarkRain

  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start mission, game stops responding
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2013, 03:29:35 am »
I added a note to the online FAQ

Edit:
This is also in the tracker as bug #4867
« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 04:14:35 am by DarkRain »