project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: My Initial comments...  (Read 4557 times)

Aaangel

My Initial comments...
« on: October 12, 2006, 03:38:04 am »
Having played a total of about 4 hours I first wanna tell the team great job, it's good to once again feel like the commander of XCOM, but I have found a couple of things that I find to be either missing or completely insane UI designs.

Features missing:

I'm not sure if research costs money, but my funds appear to suddenly plummit. If this is also because research costs money, a rough estimate of the research cost would be nice. If it's because I'm not good at administrative my funds then disregard ;)

In the equip screen for soldier a mouseover hint for items (weapons, ammo, etc.) would be nice so you know what you're actually looking at. A reason for why one of my sniperrifles are red would also be nice.

When completing research it would be nice to have a dialog asking you if you wanna view the ufopedia. A reassign staff dialog would also be nice.

My soldiers are always left with timeunits enough for a shot (yeah you guessed it I used to play UFO: Enemy unknown and XCOM:apocalypse alot :)), in case they come under attack, but my soldiers do not fire back ??? not sure if this is a bug or by design. But it's wrong.

Interface blunders
2 handed weapons vs. inventory space
This one here is driving me nuts ... Why equip a soldier holding a sniperrifle, with a 9mm sidearm, simple ... because in close quaters the sniperrifle doesn't fire fast enough, so normally you need the sidearm. but you don't have enough room to equip the 9mm because the sniperrifle is a 2 handed weapon and you cannot move the rifle to the backpack (which in reallife also would be insane) because it holds ammo and doesn't have enough room. Basically you need to drop the rifle to equip the 9mm, which soldier IRL would drop his primary weapon to use his sidearm ???... where is the shoulderstrap like in Hidden and dangerous 2 :?:.