project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Alien Containment question  (Read 10301 times)

Offline nerf5000

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Alien Containment question
« on: March 19, 2012, 05:11:32 pm »
I know it might not be implemented yet, but I can't seem to find what the intended behavior of AC during a base invasion would be and why it's being by default placed next to the hangars. If aliens stored can be freed by their peers, wouldn't the AC be in the most secure, or at least non-accessible part of the base?I always strive to put it after the entranceway but before the hangars, which takes a good chunk of cash on redesign...
Is there any way to alter the default layout as well?

Thanks!

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2561
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 07:29:14 pm »
Is there any way to alter the default layout as well?

Only by modding.

-geever

Offline nerf5000

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 01:25:06 am »
Oki, any clue as to the intended behavior though?

Offline DarkRain

  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2012, 03:18:20 am »
Intended behaviour (as in planned behaviour) is aliens being able to free subjects in AC (that's the reason you get a "Kill aliens in containment" button when your base is attacked) but afaik it isn't implemented yet (I mean the freeing of captive aliens).

hint: aliens can currently only enter the base thought the entrance, the large hangar and the (standard) radar.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2012, 04:04:41 am by DarkRain »

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2561
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2012, 11:18:37 am »
hint: aliens can currently only enter the base thought the entrance, the large hangar and the (standard) radar.

I'm not sure this is still true. Workshops have a door to the surface for example, and I've asked mappers to make it working...

-geever

Offline ShipIt

  • Project Artist
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 906
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2012, 03:32:49 pm »
There is indeed a door to the surface on workshop.

Offline DarkRain

  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2012, 09:18:08 pm »
Odd, I've never had an alien coming down the workshop, maybe because my workshops usually end far from alien spawn points (entrance and large hangar), as they are constructed later, while the radar is usually near the entrance, being one of the first things I build in a new base.

Offline ShipIt

  • Project Artist
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 906
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2012, 06:45:27 am »
If I had any kind of skill that would allow me to make AI better in the game, this is what I would try to do all day long.

Offline DarkRain

  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2012, 06:00:24 pm »
If I had any kind of skill that would allow me to make AI better in the game, this is what I would try to do all day long.
Can't you use your mapping skills to coerce the AI to perform better?  :)
If not I hope mapping will be a good skill to make the AI better some day.

Offline nerf5000

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2012, 04:22:14 am »
Thanks guys for the answers, so I guess the secure build would be:

Hangars/workshops/radars/entryway/everything else, with the alien containment being as far away as possible

perhaps this info should be in the ufopaedia?

also any priority to soldier spawns? (i.e. they spawn mostly in command ,or all over, etc.) I never actually encountered a base defense mission, probably since I'm playing on very easy since I have limited time

Offline DarkRain

  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2012, 07:16:18 am »
also any priority to soldier spawns? (i.e. they spawn mostly in command ,or all over, etc.) I never actually encountered a base defense mission, probably since I'm playing on very easy since I have limited time

Soldier spawns are in the command centre, quarters and hospital; for me they almost always spawn scattered among the quarters, and very rarely in the hospital, never seen them spawn at the command centre.

Offline ShipIt

  • Project Artist
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 906
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2012, 08:56:27 am »
As the randomspawn flag is not set in the base tiles, soldiers will spawn in the same order as the spawnpoints were set on the map´s tiles. So, for my understanding, the same spawnpoints will be used every time currently.

The UFOPaedia should not teach the player how to build his base, imo.

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2561
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2012, 11:29:10 am »
As the randomspawn flag is not set in the base tiles, soldiers will spawn in the same order as the spawnpoints were set on the map´s tiles. So, for my understanding, the same spawnpoints will be used every time currently.

Shipit, I wonder why. Could you check what happens if we set them? More variation is always better IMHO. So unless there is an issue with the fake-rma or the gameplay I think randomspawn should be set.

The UFOPaedia should not teach the player how to build his base, imo.

+1

-geever

Offline TrashMan

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 833
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2012, 01:56:13 pm »
Aren't 3 buildings trough which aliens can enter enough?

What's the point of building a underground base if it's got more holes than swiss cheese?

Offline ShipIt

  • Project Artist
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 906
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Containment question
« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2012, 03:16:23 pm »
Aren't 3 buildings trough which aliens can enter enough?

What's the point of building a underground base if it's got more holes than swiss cheese?

I think it adds some playability. Having only one entry point would set up pretty simple and boring base defence missions. Of course, as long as the AI is as it is now it doesn´t matter anyway.