project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Reaction fire problems  (Read 4797 times)

Offline UndefinedM

• Cannon Fodder
    • View Profile
Reaction fire problems
« on: January 30, 2012, 07:10:04 pm »
Hi all. I just started playing a couple of days ago thanks to desura, but i'm trying to deal with a frustrating issue about reaction fire:
whenever i have the feeling there are aliens close, maybe behind a wall or something, i tend to place my guys aiming towards the spot where i think the enemy will appear, in the hopes they'll frag it as soon as it pops into view. most of the time, though, aliens can jump in front of 4 guys and easily fill one of my soldiers with plasma or whatever weapon they use before any of them even thinks about shooting it.
Am i doing something wrong? It's really annoying having to restart a mission countless times because some damn grey can instakill my guys while they sit and watch :(

Offline nanomage

• Rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Reaction fire problems
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2012, 12:12:22 pm »
I remember reading somewhere here that the reaction fire system as it stands is crude, unfinished and planned for overhaul, so I think it's not worth complaining before it's remade.
However, it doesn't look to me like your soldiers are really meant to shoot aliens as soon as they pop into your LoS. Aliens should spend enough TU's (enough to react, aim and shoot) in front of a soldier doing something before he can do anything about them, this is how it's meant to work I think.

Offline UndefinedM

• Cannon Fodder
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2012, 01:20:43 pm »
might be, but that's what aliens do when my guys walk into ther LoS and they have TP :\ more than once i've seen aliens calmly walk in front of my team and fill one of them with plasma before any starts doing anything. But alright, if it's gonna be modified i'll wait :D

Offline Kemlo

• Rookie
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2012, 02:59:27 pm »