project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: New RMA: Harbour map  (Read 28996 times)

Offline tilli

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2011, 09:44:52 pm »
Quote
but due to lighting, there needs to be some room between the containers.

hm, why don't you put lights between them? But don't forget the day marker.

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2011, 11:54:52 pm »
Quote
hm, why don't you put lights between them? But don't forget the day marker.
Sorry, I was not very clear: when having drop shadow of the sun and tiling 256^2, there needs to be some room for the shadow to properly "smooth out"



Smmall update: freighter bridge (all walkable)

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2011, 11:56:33 pm »
small update: "watered" harvester :)

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #18 on: January 09, 2011, 12:24:18 am »
I have a problem with a brush, I checked the face flags and it seems ok: it is translucent where it should not be:
-> you can see the alien through it (lower part under the windows of the bridge)


SOLVED (added another brush, fine grain brushwork here)
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 12:33:11 am by mameister »

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #19 on: January 09, 2011, 08:03:40 am »
you should activate the texture lock when you rotate the harvester - all the textures on the harvester are "broken"

your stairs should be a lot smaller imo - they don't fit the rest of the dimensions.

there may be problems with brushes when you use the csg tools too much. always make sure to make backups (that's also the reason why we offered you to put your work already to data_source)

please also keep in mind to run ./ufo2map -check maps/harbour/xyz.map to see potential errors.

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #20 on: January 09, 2011, 09:39:46 am »
Quote
you should activate the texture lock when you rotate the harveste

Yes, I noticed that, sorry for that. It was just an idea so was mainly up for discussion. Would a "floating" harvester fit?

Quote
your stairs should be a lot smaller imo - they don't fit the rest of the dimensions.

Then it seems I dod not fully understand the stairs yet. I made them to be 32x32 so that they easily work with pathfinding and actor placement etc

Quote
there may be problems with brushes when you use the csg tools too much. always make sure to make backups (that's also the reason why we offered you to put your work already to data_source)

I regularly backup the tiles myself and wanted to achieve some "playbility" before it being added. Also, I do not use the csg tools at all (something I learned during my Quake* times).



I have not yet understood or time for:
- how to add multiplayer starts/ make multiplayer maps/ assemblies
- support all crafts/drops/ufos (I work along the "industrial" RMA)
I have yet to fix:
- random placement of aliens (not only drops)
- consistency with entities (remove the test player starts to check tiles)
- consistency with textures and sizes
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 09:41:20 am by mameister »

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #21 on: January 09, 2011, 11:30:37 am »
Then it seems I dod not fully understand the stairs yet. I made them to be 32x32 so that they easily work with pathfinding and actor placement etc

I generally make stairs 4 units high and 8 units wide if they're supposed to be fairly steep. You could try 4x4 if you need a 45 degree descent. I wouldn't worry about pathfinding unless you have a problem.

I have not yet understood or time for:
- how to add multiplayer starts/ make multiplayer maps/ assemblies

info_player_start entity, then add a property saying team 1 or 2

- support all crafts/drops/ufos (I work along the "industrial" RMA)

One thing to keep in mind, is that all of your dropships should fit on the same tile. This is because your RMA assembly will swap out each of the dropships depending on which the player is using. The Raptor is the largest dropship, so you'll want to make sure all of your dropships are on a tile that fits this dropship.

The same is true for UFOs, but because they vary a lot in size it is sometimes good to create more than one assembly. Generally, you can use a "small" assembly for scout/fighter/resupply, a "medium" assembly for harvester, and a "large" assembly for corrupter/bomber. You could get rid of the medium assembly by putting the harvester on the "large" assembly.

Looks like it's coming along nicely. I like the control deck. I'm not sure how the storyline/realistic consistency people feel about a floating harvester. I think it looks a bit wierd, but have no major issue with it.

Oh, and the Texture Lock button is the bottom icon on the far left if you're having trouble finding it. Useful for moving/rotating prefabs or other objects that have already had textures aligned.

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #22 on: January 09, 2011, 02:51:28 pm »
Very helpful, thank you all for the comments!

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #23 on: January 09, 2011, 11:42:51 pm »
OK, I cannot make my deadline :)

WIP shot

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #24 on: January 10, 2011, 10:24:37 am »
OK, I cannot make my deadline :)

Who ever does! :)

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #25 on: January 10, 2011, 11:28:30 pm »
 ;D two WIP shots of progress:
- all crate type tiles (20, most 1x1)
- all mole type tiles (8, 5 1x1)
Need to add more detail on the mole tiles and think of a lighting concept for night

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #26 on: January 11, 2011, 09:48:08 am »
Looks nice! I really like the water-line. I assume the plan is to merge the two eventually? A couple suggestions:

1. Choose a ground texture that is more even across the surface. The current one looks very repetitive. If you can't find a good flat 512x512 texture I can always make one for you.

2. I like the smaller boxes. Maybe place a few more so that the player can position soldiers behind cover but still able to fire.

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #27 on: January 13, 2011, 11:07:38 pm »
Sorry for not updating, I am busy with real-life getting in the way (buying a house right now, uff)

Quote
I assume the plan is to merge the two eventually?
Well, they are already merged as you can see in the earlier pictures.

Quote
Choose a ground texture that is more even across the surface. The current one looks very repetitive
That's right. Since the tiles are 1x1 mostly, I think there is no way around it one way or the other. But point taken, will investigate

Quote
If you can't find a good flat 512x512 texture I can always make one for you
That's cool! There's awesome texture artwork in the qradiant for UFO by you guys so I should find something

Quote
Maybe place a few more so that the player can position soldiers behind cover but still able to fire.
Ok, will think about more RMA tiles with smaller boxes. right now, consistency is killing me because of the number of the tiles

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #28 on: January 13, 2011, 11:32:08 pm »
The tiles working together (still repetetive ;)

Last pictures shows sniper spots in between all the labyrinth of container

Offline mameister

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: New RMA: Harbour map
« Reply #29 on: January 13, 2011, 11:43:00 pm »
Oh, forgot the ship tiles, here some more RMA goodness (I just love randon number generators)