project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: The GIT problem  (Read 30730 times)

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2010, 11:55:54 pm »
How to push to origin master ???

If that's the only output I would say it's a simple network error on SF side and retries "fix" it. But I'm not a Git-mage.


ps. If you didn't commit in our Git for a long(?) time it is possible that you need to do the fixbase stuff to be removed from the blacklist. But that's an other error message...

-geever

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #16 on: October 25, 2010, 01:44:34 am »
There's now another problem that's come up - I can't access the data source.  After following the instructions in the wiki, Git bombs with an error about an invalid branch.

Even worse, I can't pull up the data source in the web git browser on sourceforge, it doesn't show up anywhere.  It would be really, really nice if it did, so that I could look through the files and not have to download the whole thing.

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2010, 07:34:36 am »
the weblink is here: link

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2010, 07:36:57 am »
$ git branch -vv
* master 7903cdb [origin/master: ahead 1] * data.mk fixes (do not use 7z)

$ git cherry -v
+ 7903cdb830ae0b16b0f007b3f73aa98f973471a4 * data.mk fixes (do not use 7z)

I havent created a brunch for this one change
im on the master
$ git branch -a
* master
  remotes/origin/HEAD -> origin/master
  remotes/origin/ai_lua
  remotes/origin/buildbot
......

Btw. Its my machine which terminates the TCP connection (reset)
Its not a connection problem i receive data from sourceforge (wireshark)

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #19 on: October 25, 2010, 08:12:01 am »
yes, that would be another error message (which is going to come up later - we have to ensure that you have executed fix-base)

please just do git push


Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2010, 10:25:03 am »
fix-base ???

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #21 on: October 25, 2010, 04:58:19 pm »

Offline MCR

  • PHALANX veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1244
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #22 on: October 26, 2010, 10:36:39 am »
How to push to origin master ???

Code: (sh) [Select]
$ git commit --author="Muton <mutonufoai@users.sourceforge.net>"  -m "* data.mk fixes (do not use 7z)" -v -i build/data.mk
$ git log -1
commit 7a0c75e6f2d861552f489855c14ef9d71d56fb52
Author: Muton <mutonufoai@users.sourceforge.net>
Date:   Sun Oct 24 15:42:19 2010 +0200

    * data.mk fixes (do not use 7z)

$ git push --dry-run -v origin 7a0c75e6f2d861552f489855c14ef9d71d56fb52:master
Pushing to git://ufoai.git.sourceforge.net/gitroot/ufoai/ufoai
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly

I had the same error the last time I tried to push stuff via git (quite a while ago already)...
If you manage to fix pushing stuff, it would be nice if you could explain how exactly you fixed it, so others (me) could set up git under win correctly also...

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #23 on: October 26, 2010, 05:25:13 pm »
There is now way to push with git directly (read only)
you need to use ssh

use this command
git remote set-url --push origin ssh://USER@ufoai.git.sourceforge.net/gitroot/ufoai/ufoai
USER = your sourceforge username
like mutonufoai

If you use MSYSgit you already have everything you need
I've added this into our mingw environment too
Btw. ssh.exe will hang inside of mintty.exe or rxvt.exe, because there is no ssh output shown
added a small script to work around that

The result is this
....
Total 4 (delta 3), reused 0 (delta 0)
Pushing denied. Please contact mattn or tron to unlock you. (You are mutonufoai.)
....

Offline ManicMiner

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2010, 01:32:53 am »
I'm still completely bamboozled by GIT, I'm afraid. I'm using 1.7.3.1 on Vista x64.

I've had several large internet pipes at my disposal recently and have attempted to update the source a couple of times but now nothing's downloading when I check for updates.

This is driving me absolutely insane. I'm still playing the last compiled version from Muton's script because for me it's still more playable than the precompiled builds since then (I was using optimized settings for my machine and it doesn't seem as happy with the default build options).

I'm willing to give GIT one more shot IF someone can give me a very straightforward set of noddy instructions on how to use GIT to do what I was doing before... which was a bog-standard update from source, then recompile.

(See attached screenshot)

Offline MCR

  • PHALANX veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1244
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2010, 04:14:57 pm »
Please help !
This is the exact error I get when trying to push via msysgit:

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #26 on: November 25, 2010, 04:28:15 pm »
Quote
Pushing denied. Please contact mattn or tron to unlock you.

This had to do with when we had to run git-fixbase after the GIT switch. IRC will be the place to get help with this probably.

Offline Malick

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #27 on: February 12, 2011, 10:22:11 am »
I see I'm not the only one with troubles with GIT...

I finally installed it and downloaded the sources, following the instructions of the wiki.
However, after downloading some 500Mo of data, I can't find where GIT put the sources !

This is driving me crazy... Any genius around here or am I just blind ?  8)

Malick

EDIT : While searching, I have found a directory named 'ufoai' inside the GIT install. In this directory, there's a 700Mo *.PACK file and a smaller *.IDX file. Is that the archive with the sources ? How do I extract them ?
I don't think you'll be able to find something more complicated than this. I already lost my few free hours trying to figure out how to install, configure, download, open the damn sources... Do we have to code in russian also ?
I'm loosing motivation every minute.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2011, 10:49:20 am by Malick »

Offline bayo

  • Professional loser
  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #28 on: February 12, 2011, 03:39:23 pm »
u must "checkout" something now.

maybe

"git checkout master"

Offline Malick

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #29 on: February 12, 2011, 05:09:15 pm »
I'm currently trying the 'clone' command. It's several Go of data to download... So it's taking quite long !

I'll tell you if I ever manage to open a file before tonight !

Malick

EDIT : woooot ! Managed to get all the sources, finally.

Now, I'm trying to compile... but I must have missed something when setting in my Code::Blocks.
It compiles correctly, till I get an error when compiling ufoded:
Code: [Select]
gcc: Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\include: No such file or directory
windres.exe: preprocessing failed.

This is strange, as all paths seem to be correct. Toolchain executables set to
Code: [Select]
C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\
« Last Edit: February 12, 2011, 06:26:56 pm by Malick »