project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: +hills and +city bad graphics display  (Read 4735 times)

Offline balasar

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
+hills and +city bad graphics display
« on: August 28, 2010, 06:45:33 pm »
When scrolling or rotation map (+hills and +city) I have problems with correct display graphics (road markings). When GLSL disabled - all good. Is it associated with low FPS (17-20)? But poor line markings are shown only.

K10/2Gb/Gf7900GS drv.197.45/WinXP_sp3/rev32015
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 06:49:37 pm by balasar »

Offline jerikojerk

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2010, 01:56:57 am »
you make me think of that.

Offline balasar

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2010, 08:29:24 am »
jerikojerk
I think another issue here. In the area of the map allowed walking, and it should be disabled.
IMHO.

Offline jerikojerk

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2010, 12:35:31 pm »
i did not pretend so.

i think you should report about your machine graphic card and other spec.

Offline balasar

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2010, 01:42:48 pm »
i did not pretend so.

i think you should report about your machine graphic card and other spec.
I wrote it in the first post ...

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2010, 10:37:44 pm »
This is a bug report for this same problem. In my case, it seems to be related to ATI gfx cards. Are you on ATI?

Offline balasar

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2010, 10:55:32 pm »
A bit like. No I have nvidia gforce 7900gs.
This is evident when you move the map (scrolling or rotation)
« Last Edit: August 30, 2010, 10:59:04 pm by balasar »

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2010, 11:47:11 pm »
Yes, same as how I experience it (when moving the camera), but so far I'd only seen/heard of it on ATI cards. Would be worth posting a comment on SF with your specs just to let whoever gets around to it know.

Offline balasar

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2010, 09:55:46 am »
So I found a dependence - if the number of dynamic lights greater than 3, then the problem disappears.

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2010, 11:21:44 am »
Cool, hopefully that will help get the problem sorted out.

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2010, 11:52:32 am »
yes - the medium settings (base/video-medium.cfg will set them to 3)

Offline balasar

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2010, 12:27:10 pm »
You need to set 4 or above ...

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2010, 12:54:50 pm »
check ufoconsole - i suppose shaders are not working with 4 or above - that's why they aren't used - that's why the shader related z-fighting problem is gone ;)

Offline balasar

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: +hills and +city bad graphics display
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2010, 01:21:13 pm »
Yes, if select >3 lights, errors appear in the ufoconsole