project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Crash when loading map  (Read 1620 times)

Offline RyanW

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Crash when loading map
« on: December 04, 2009, 04:24:57 pm »
This 1st happened a few weeks ago.  Can't remember exactly which version when I 1st noticed it, but I usually get the latest version every day.  Anyway, when I start a mission it attempts to load the mission map, I get the flash screen for the map, then back the game jumps back to the geoscape.  I thought it was a problem with an individual map so I left that mission on the map and advanced until the next mission and the same thing happened with a different map.  Here's a portion of the output.

------- Loading game.so -------
LoadLibrary (./base/game.so)
==== InitGame ====
SV_AssembleMap: Sequential map assembly in 0 ms
CM_LoadMap: "-desert/ +craft_drop_firebird +main_harvester" "-24 -24 0 -24 -24 0"
********************
ERROR: CM_AddMapTile: desert/craft_drop_firebird has wrong version number (77 should be 78)
********************
Shutdown server: Server crashed.

Offline Mattn

  • CaveExpress
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4830
  • www.caveproductions.org
    • View Profile
    • CaveExpress
Re: Crash when loading map
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2009, 05:29:07 pm »
Hi Ryan and welcome to our board.

your maps aren't up-to-date - you have to recompile them.

Please use the search function next time ;)

Offline RyanW

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when loading map
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2009, 06:16:13 pm »
Thanks, I have since used the search and found that I need to recompile all the maps.  This may seem like a real dumb question, but how do I do that?  make maps says there is nothing to do.  I'm using linux.

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when loading map
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2009, 06:27:09 pm »
IIRC you need to use a "clean" switch with the command, I think its "make maps clean" or "make maps-clean" or something similar.  Sorry I don't recall the exact command, I was out for several days and haven't had time to fire up my Linux partition on the other computer where I have it installed.

Offline RyanW

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when loading map
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2009, 07:11:17 pm »
Quote
IIRC you need to use a "clean" switch with the command, I think its "make maps clean" or "make maps-clean" or something similar.

Looks like it's "make clean-maps"

Offline Mattn

  • CaveExpress
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4830
  • www.caveproductions.org
    • View Profile
    • CaveExpress
Re: Crash when loading map
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2009, 08:06:33 pm »
you can also use the map-get.py script from contrib/scripts to fetch the latest precompiled maps