project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: The GIT problem  (Read 24858 times)

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2555
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #30 on: February 13, 2011, 01:04:36 pm »
Code: [Select]
gcc: Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\include: No such file or directory
windres.exe: preprocessing failed.

This is strange, as all paths seem to be correct. Toolchain executables set to
Code: [Select]
C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\

I remember CodeBlock didn't like path with space in it. Maybe this is the problem?

-geever

Offline Malick

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #31 on: February 15, 2011, 09:23:16 pm »
Quote
I remember CodeBlock didn't like path with space in it. Maybe this is the problem?

D'oh...
After all this development, it can still not take spaces ? We're back to Win 3.1 !  ::)

Thanks geever, it works now :) I can update the sources and compile...
Now I'll figure how to mess with the code ^^

By the way, with Git what is the 'smartest' solution to upload any modification : patch, push, commit ...  ?

Malick

Offline bayo

  • Professional loser
  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #32 on: February 16, 2011, 02:30:23 pm »
like svn, it is commit/push. but the game is not free as you-can-do-what-ever-u-want-on-the-repository. U need rights to push things.

Patch is the way to star't contributing. It is nice to create patch with git metatdata, like author and so on, cause it is very easy to apply.

Offline Malick

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #33 on: February 16, 2011, 07:43:08 pm »
Hi Bayo,

No prob, I will start with 'patch' for a start :)
Thanks for the help, anyway. I'll have plenty other silly questions (in a separate thread !)

Malick

EDIT : OK, I do need help. I want to create a patch and to submit it here (I created a topic)
Problem : when I click on "Create Patch Serial", well, I don't see anything happening. Any help appreciated :)
Thanks for your patience with noobs like me !
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 08:38:06 pm by Malick »

Offline Malick

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #34 on: March 02, 2011, 08:47:57 pm »
Gents,

I need some help with GIT, it's puzzling me ????

I tried to update the sources with PULL command. Now, I have some weird artifacts which I have to track and erase one by one, such as :
Quote
...soldiers 1
   scientists 3
<<<<<<< HEAD
=======
   workers 1
>>>>>>> 36011dc324793d8b64cd5d4d72c28c2c45de39b8
   pilots   1
   pos "-46 26"

And GIT now refuse to commit any change, because I have unmerged files. When I try to merge them, it tells me that I can't, because, I have some unmerged files...
Any help appreciated !

Malick

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #35 on: March 02, 2011, 09:19:53 pm »
FYI, the third-party program TortoiseGit has been updated with a new version that actually works.

I've tested it - It now works flawlessly for downloading and updating from the master, you can now effectively use it almost as if you were using TortoiseSVN.

The only hard part is getting TortosieGit to work with the data_source, I'm still playing with it to see if it can handle it or not, and how to go about doing it.

The command-line interface with the official Git has also had new versions put out, I've found the most recent for Windows has no issues anymore working with the data_source as well as the master.

Edit:  Sorry, I'm now wondering if I should have posted this info in a new topic where it might get noticed better.  Sorry, my bad.  Still, if the command-line interface isn't working for you, you might have better luck now with TortoiseGit.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2011, 09:27:56 pm by Destructavator »

Offline bayo

  • Professional loser
  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #36 on: March 02, 2011, 10:19:21 pm »
fix the files with hands,

git add -u
git rebase --continue

Offline Legendman3

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #37 on: June 04, 2011, 12:23:06 am »
What is the difference between svn and git btw? I hear git is "A evil little demon that is able to do what you want but doesn't tell you how"

Offline Legendman3

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #38 on: June 07, 2011, 09:40:12 pm »
I got git up and running. Downloaded the source code for this project compiled it and ran it and all I have to say is... I liked svn better.

Offline O01eg

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #39 on: June 14, 2011, 08:41:59 am »
What is the difference between svn and git btw? I hear git is "A evil little demon that is able to do what you want but doesn't tell you how"
Svn can continue fetching repository.

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2555
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #40 on: June 15, 2011, 12:46:03 am »
Maybe we should lock this thread. No useful info is added to it for a while.....

-geever

Offline Sandro

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
  • Maintenance guy for UFO:AI 3D engine
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #41 on: June 15, 2011, 09:00:06 pm »
Just before thread gets locked :) I have a proposal: we could make online zipped copy of master branch (~2 GB now), so everyone could download it after setting up git, unzip without caring for git quirks (everything will be configured properly in the .git/), and have a working local repo.

Objections?

Offline Mattn

  • CaveExpress
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4830
  • www.caveproductions.org
    • View Profile
    • CaveExpress
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #42 on: June 16, 2011, 08:00:33 am »
where should we host 2gb? that would produce a lot of traffic.

Offline O01eg

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: The GIT problem
« Reply #43 on: July 04, 2011, 07:15:03 pm »
I download repository by rsync, rename ufoai to .git, but cann't add origin branches for updates:
Code: [Select]
o01eg@o01eg /mnt/another/game.src/ufoai $ git remote set-url origin git://ufoai.git.sourceforge.net/gitroot/ufoai/ufoai
fatal: No such remote 'origin'
o01eg@o01eg /mnt/another/game.src/ufoai $ git remote set-url --push origin ssh://o01eg@ufoai.git.sourceforge.net/gitroot/ufoai/ufoai
fatal: No such remote 'origin'
o01eg@o01eg /mnt/another/game.src/ufoai $ git branch -a
  ai_lua
  android
  automission
  buildbot
  hud
  maputils_java
* master
  renderer_work
  rudolforadiant
  savegame_break
  sizeless_textures
  ufoai_2.0
  ufoai_2.1
  ufoai_2.2
  ufoai_2.3
  ufoai_2_legacy
  ufoai_firemode_patch
  ufoai_sdl
  ufoai_wilminator
  ui_angelscript
How can I create origin branches?