project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: ERROR: Actor is still moving  (Read 14011 times)

Offline Wace

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #45 on: September 04, 2009, 01:03:55 pm »
Yep, still there. 26001 as well.

Code: [Select]
Team 1 ended round, team 7's round started!
********************
ERROR: Actor (entnum: 12) on team 7 is still moving (1 steps left)
********************
Shutdown server: Server crashed.
==== ShutdownGame ====
./ufo(Sys_Backtrace+0x1f)[0x8195a2a]
./ufo[0x8195a8a]
[0xb7efa400]
./ufo(LE_Cleanup+0x140)[0x808d117]
./ufo(GAME_Drop+0x13)[0x8075ea9]
./ufo(CL_Drop+0x10)[0x808db92]
./ufo(Com_Error+0xd0)[0x81427d3]
./ufo(CL_ActorDoMove+0x113)[0x809c899]
./ufo[0x809ac68]
./ufo(Qcommon_Frame+0x9a)[0x81444b3]
./ufo(main+0x66)[0x819478d]
/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe5)[0xb78ac775]
./ufo[0x806a1b1]
./ufo(Sys_Backtrace+0x1f)[0x8195a2a]
./ufo(Sys_Error+0x22)[0x8194ba4]
./ufo(Sys_InitSignals+0x0)[0x8195a9d]
[0xb7efa400]
./ufo(LE_Cleanup+0x140)[0x808d117]
./ufo(GAME_Drop+0x13)[0x8075ea9]
./ufo(CL_Drop+0x10)[0x808db92]
./ufo(Com_Error+0xd0)[0x81427d3]
./ufo(CL_ActorDoMove+0x113)[0x809c899]
./ufo[0x809ac68]
./ufo(Qcommon_Frame+0x9a)[0x81444b3]
./ufo(main+0x66)[0x819478d]
/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe5)[0xb78ac775]
./ufo[0x806a1b1]
Error: Received signal 11.

Logs attached.

Offline Ralgert

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #46 on: September 04, 2009, 09:07:25 pm »
Rev 26003
Quote
ERROR: Actor (entnum: 33) on team 7 is still moving (3 steps left).  Times: 16155684, 16155684, 16155684

Additional information with older debug code
Quote
Connecting to localhost...
load material file: 'materials/farm.mat'
music change to PsymongN5 (from PsymongN5)
Starting the game...
ralgert has joined team 0
(player 0) It's team 1's round
ralgert has taken control over team 1.
music change to ufo2 (from PsymongN5)
pathLength: 0:4
pathLength: 0:6
pathLength: 0:5
pathLength: 0:8
pathLength: 0:7
pathLength: 0:2
pathLength: 0:5
Team 1 ended round, team 7's round started!
Team 7 ended round, team 0's round started!
pathLength: 0:8
pathLength: 0:4
Team 0 ended round, team 1's round started!
pathLength: 0:1
pathLength: 0:3
pathLength: 0:8
pathLength: 0:6
pathLength: 0:4
pathLength: 0:5
pathLength: 0:6
pathLength: 0:2
pathLength: 0:3
pathLength: 0:6
Team 1 ended round, team 7's round started!
pathLength: 0:2
pathLength: 2:5
********************
ERROR: Actor (entnum: 29) on team 7 is still moving (2 steps left).  Times: 2170728, 2170728, 2170728 pathLength: 2:5
********************
Shutdown server: Server crashed.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 02:29:21 am by Ralgert »

Offline polyvios

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #47 on: September 05, 2009, 09:34:08 pm »
OK, this should be fixed for good now.  Please test again and report any bugs (current is r26041).  Thanks for all the bug reports!

Offline Screet

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #48 on: September 07, 2009, 03:38:32 pm »
OK, this should be fixed for good now.  Please test again and report any bugs (current is r26041).  Thanks for all the bug reports!

It's fine now! VERY big thanks!!!

However, there's a new bug kicking in. While it's my turn, sometimes (I could not figure out the situation yet) moving one of my actors causes the game to quit to desktop while the actor is moving. I'm not sure if that's related.

Are there any saved log files? I'm using Vista.

Screet

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2553
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #49 on: September 07, 2009, 03:51:09 pm »
Are there any saved log files? I'm using Vista.

FAQ

-geever

Offline Screet

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #50 on: September 07, 2009, 11:18:57 pm »
However, there's a new bug kicking in. While it's my turn, sometimes (I could not figure out the situation yet) moving one of my actors causes the game to quit to desktop while the actor is moving. I'm not sure if that's related.

Sadly, it's not giving additional info. Last entry reads
"2009/09/07 10:29:49 - scout_crash:    1096824 EV_ACTOR_MOVE"

ufoconsole only reported that my round started as it's last entry.

Is there a way to create a more verbose output (even if that's slowing things down)?

Otherwise I'll continue with the freshly downloaded version from today and keep my eyes open in the hope that I'll find out which condition is causing this.

Screet

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2553
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #51 on: September 07, 2009, 11:44:31 pm »
Is there a way to create a more verbose output (even if that's slowing things down)?

You can run the game with parameter for more verbose output
Code: [Select]
ufo +set developer 1

But you should really start it in a debugger (gdb). That can catch nasty errors like a segfault. For more info, read our wiki article about Debugging.

-geever

Offline Screet

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #52 on: September 09, 2009, 05:29:44 pm »
But you should really start it in a debugger (gdb). That can catch nasty errors like a segfault. For more info, read our wiki article about Debugging.

That's true...it's just that it's all fresh new code to read into...and when I had a look at the routing, it was very unfamiliar, although I've written nation wide routing algorithms at work as well as small ones for my game. Another example, after trying a find in files I did not even come up with an idea where to search for a bug with the flashbang numbers (at the beginning, I have 5, buy 10 but still only can use 5 for my actors, although I have 15 in storage).

However, concerning the crash to desktop while moving - I'm thinking it was the previous version from Destructavator only. Since I updated to the latest one, I did not experience it anymore. As it was only happening sometimes, I will have to keep my eyes open, as I might just have been lucky. But my guess is that it was something with that previous version.

Not a single "out of sync" since the last "should be fixed" report! Looks like that bug really is history!

Screet

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #53 on: September 09, 2009, 10:45:35 pm »
Screet,
if you can't find the 'entry point' of the code, please join us at the 'newbie coders forum'.
There are several users who have the same problem as you (including me).
Duke