project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: ERROR: Actor is still moving  (Read 20256 times)

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #30 on: August 30, 2009, 01:51:41 am »
looks to me to be mainly the civvies that keep moving. That is team 7, right?

Offline Kildor

  • Project Artist
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 757
  • Project mapper and some other stuff`er
    • View Profile
    • http://ufoai.nx0.ru
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #31 on: August 30, 2009, 04:29:36 am »
No, Team 7 is aliens.

Offline Ragdata

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #32 on: August 30, 2009, 07:33:36 pm »
I've been suspecting for a little while that this is a pathing issue rather than something going on in the event timer code.

Perhaps this recent (and one-of-a-kind that I've experienced at least) console log entry may provide a pointer?

Code: [Select]
********************
ERROR: LET_PathMove: Actor movement is out of sync: 127:106:0 should be 121:107:0 (step 2 of 2) (team 1)
********************
Shutdown server: Server crashed.
==== ShutdownGame ====
music change to karlmacklin_geoscape (from AlexForest)
Wrote config.cfg.

Caused the same type of behaviour that Actor Still Moving causes - but it happened during MY turn while I was moving an actor over a longer distance.

It happened on the "Tropical Drug" map (not that I believe that's relevant at all).

Offline MXcom

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #33 on: August 31, 2009, 01:02:38 am »
I also got this error in the freshly installed r25862 built by odie.
Too bad, it was the last alien left (I think) :(
Code: [Select]
********************
ERROR: Actor (entnum: 41) on team 7 is still moving (3 steps left)
********************
Shutdown server: Server crashed.
==== ShutdownGame ====
music change to van_geoscape (from PsymongO6)
Shutdown gametype 'Campaign mode'
music change to van_theme (from van_geoscape)
Wrote config.cfg.
Wrote keys.cfg

here's the events.log of this mission, since geever said it might be of interest:

Offline gerald

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #34 on: August 31, 2009, 03:10:16 pm »
eh crazyness 10 mishes in row "actor is still moving" newest version
anyone got so much of em also or dunno maybe is sumfin wrong with my game or system :(

Offline Screet

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #35 on: August 31, 2009, 07:06:24 pm »
eh crazyness 10 mishes in row "actor is still moving" newest version
anyone got so much of em also or dunno maybe is sumfin wrong with my game or system :(

For several weeks it's so bad that this bug kicks in on every first combat round. I've tried several of Odies versions, but it was all the same. It's not possible to play.

What I do not understand is that such immense bugs are being commited by developers. Are some of them not testing what they changed before commiting the changes?

Screet

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #36 on: August 31, 2009, 07:50:46 pm »
What I do not understand is that such immense bugs are being commited by developers. Are some of them not testing what they changed before commiting the changes?

You know nothing about programming... You should play the latest stable version (2.2.1) if you can't understand how things go.

-geever

Offline Wace

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #37 on: August 31, 2009, 07:58:18 pm »
I just love people complaining about quality of beta-open-source-projects.  ;D

I haven't encountered this bug (yet) in the latest Win version (self-compiled), but it still appears to be present in Ubuntu, while using the same saved campaign and same latest version.  Not sure if it's connected, though, since I can't make it repeatable. Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn't.  :(

I suspected it was matter of aliens killed by reaction fire, but it is obviously not. Will try further.

Offline Screet

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #38 on: August 31, 2009, 08:13:28 pm »
I just love people complaining about quality of beta-open-source-projects.  ;D

Well, I miss the sense of download yet another test version only to notice that the bug which prevents to test still is present. I thought these versions were there so that they could be tested and the found bugs solved.

About me not knowing about programming...until burnout that was my job, using C++ and writing for Windows, Mac and embedded Windows devices. Burnout not due to lack of skill, as that seems what people then usually think. If you don't believe it, I can tell you where you can buy an IEEE publication that was written about my work or could send you a windows game I'm working on in the attempt to recover.

I did even have a look at the code in the hope to find something obvious ;)

Screet

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #39 on: August 31, 2009, 08:38:30 pm »
My problem with your comment really was the attitude. You must know sometimes it's not that easy to find and fix the code. And you have criticized us......

If you find the bug, please, help us! You can send patches to our Patch Tracker.

-geever

Offline Ralgert

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #40 on: September 02, 2009, 07:39:32 pm »
I hope this can help:
Quote
ERROR: Actor (entnum: 41) on team 7 is still moving (4 steps left). actorMoveLength:0. endTime:616177.

If not, what Data can be help?

At moment, i'am not to depth in the code. At this point, why should the pathlenght not greater as zero?
If this a problem with the wrong endTime (4 additional move-events in queque?), why don't recalculate the event and make a notice to an error-log?

Offline Wace

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #41 on: September 03, 2009, 08:30:37 am »
Just compiled the most recent version with additional debug output and played till I got the error.

ufoconsole.log & events.log are attached.

Here's the latest part of console output:
Code: [Select]
Starting the game...
Max has joined team 0
(player 0) It's team 1's round
Max has taken control over team 1.
Max: music_change battlescape
pathLength: 0:2
pathLength: 0:10
pathLength: 0:2
pathLength: 0:1
pathLength: 0:1
pathLength: 0:7
pathLength: 0:5
pathLength: 0:6
pathLength: 0:10
Team 1 ended round, team 7's round started!
pathLength: 0:1
pathLength: 1:1
********************
ERROR: Actor (entnum: 12) on team 7 is still moving (1 steps left)
********************
Shutdown server: Server crashed.
==== ShutdownGame ====
./ufo(Sys_Backtrace+0x1f)[0x8195a32]
./ufo[0x8195a92]
[0xb7fa9400]
./ufo(LE_Cleanup+0x140)[0x808d10f]
./ufo(GAME_Drop+0x13)[0x8075ea9]
./ufo(CL_Drop+0x10)[0x808db8a]
./ufo(Com_Error+0xd0)[0x81427d3]
./ufo(CL_ActorDoMove+0x128)[0x809c8a6]
./ufo[0x809ac60]
./ufo(Qcommon_Frame+0x9a)[0x81444b3]
./ufo(main+0x66)[0x8194795]
/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe5)[0xb795b775]
./ufo[0x806a1b1]
./ufo(Sys_Backtrace+0x1f)[0x8195a32]
./ufo(Sys_Error+0x22)[0x8194bac]
./ufo(Sys_InitSignals+0x0)[0x8195aa5]
[0xb7fa9400]
./ufo(LE_Cleanup+0x140)[0x808d10f]
./ufo(GAME_Drop+0x13)[0x8075ea9]
./ufo(CL_Drop+0x10)[0x808db8a]
./ufo(Com_Error+0xd0)[0x81427d3]
./ufo(CL_ActorDoMove+0x128)[0x809c8a6]
./ufo[0x809ac60]
./ufo(Qcommon_Frame+0x9a)[0x81444b3]
./ufo(main+0x66)[0x8194795]
/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe5)[0xb795b775]
./ufo[0x806a1b1]
Error: Received signal 11.

Let me know if I can be of any further help.

Offline polyvios

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #42 on: September 03, 2009, 11:12:13 pm »
This should be fixed now.  Please report any new occurrence from now on.

Offline MXcom

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #43 on: September 04, 2009, 12:18:12 am »
This should be fixed now.  Please report any new occurrence from now on.

This is great news! I hope I (or any others) won't be forced to follow your request ;)

Oh, please define "now" in terms of a revision :)

Offline Ralgert

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: ERROR: Actor is still moving
« Reply #44 on: September 04, 2009, 12:36:56 pm »
Error still exist in Rev 26001.
Quote
Team 1 ended round, team 7's round started!
pathLength: 0:1
pathLength: 1:2
********************
ERROR: Actor (entnum: 3) on team 7 is still moving (1 steps left). actorMoveLength:0 endTime:3099278