project-navigation
Personal tools

Poll

Are you interested in such a script

Yes
9 (100%)
No
0 (0%)
Don't care
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 5

Voting closed: August 12, 2009, 04:03:18 pm

Author Topic: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)  (Read 112545 times)

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #255 on: February 14, 2012, 07:04:10 pm »
That
Code: [Select]
If @OSVersion = "WIN_2000" Then
$Process_array = ProcessList(StringLeft(@ScriptName, 15))
If $Process_array[0][0] > 1 Then
MsgBox(270352, "Error 000", @CRLF & "An instance of " & @ScriptName & " is already running!" )
Exit
EndIf
Else
$Process_array = ProcessList(@ScriptName)
If $Process_array[0][0] > 1 Then
MsgBox(270352, "Error 000", @CRLF & "An instance of " & @ScriptName & " is already running!" )
Exit
EndIf
EndIf

was added @ 0.9.3

Because you are the only one with this problem
its hard 4me to debug.

Try this one
i've compiled it using autoit 3.3.6.1

Offline bucata

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #256 on: February 15, 2012, 06:15:36 pm »
Nope, its same error.

If its not too much bother can you just put in comment all this section... or just give me the script i will recompile myself.

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #257 on: February 16, 2012, 08:44:05 am »
The problem is on your side
you should find out why this problem occur.
Possibly a virus scanner who run the program internally to check the behavior ...
File emulation ....

There is a reason for this check
if you run it twice you would screw up the whole setup

The source is always extracted as soon as you start the program
its called make_UfoAI_win32.au3

Offline bucata

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #258 on: February 16, 2012, 10:43:08 pm »
Well something is wrong for sure.. prolly have to preinstall windows next time to fix it.
But anyway I bypassed the process check as result now IT WORKS.
Thanks a lot of your help.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2012, 10:44:43 pm by bucata »

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #259 on: April 09, 2012, 03:21:20 pm »
== 2012.04.09 == 1.1.1 =====================================
You are now able to select the branch you want to build
Be careful with it because youll switch to the selected branch
and than you likely need to compile maps again



best practice if you switch often
Code: (open cmd) [Select]
md D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\2.4
md D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\2.5
copy /y D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\make_UfoAI_win32.exe D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\2.4
copy /y D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\make_UfoAI_win32.exe D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\2.5
md D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai_2.4\.git
md D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai_2.5\.git
@echo \objects\>"%tmp%\exclude.txt"
xcopy D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai\.git D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai_2.4\.git /E /V /H /R /Y /EXCLUDE:%tmp%\exclude.txt
xcopy D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai\.git D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai_2.4\.git /E /V /H /R /Y /EXCLUDE:%tmp%\exclude.txt
del "%tmp%\exclude.txt"
linkd D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai_2.4\.git\objects D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai\.git\objects
linkd D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai_2.5\.git\objects D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai\.git\objects
This will hardlink
D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\ufoai\.git\objects
and save you a lot of space

start D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\MinGW\msys.bat
Code: (msys.bat) [Select]
cd /ufoai_2.4
git checkout .
cd /ufoai_2.5
git checkout .

Now run D:\UFOAIwin32BUILDenv\2.4\make_UfoAI_win32.exe
point to the directories and dont forget to use ufoai_2.4 or ufoai_2.5 as the source directory

start compiling

add
  • branch selector
bug
  • make install directory reset to default at each start
« Last Edit: April 09, 2012, 03:23:43 pm by Muton »

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #260 on: April 21, 2012, 12:07:27 pm »
== 2012.04.21 == 1.1.2 =====================================
Just a tiny bug
that lists all revision time stamps of a commit instead of only the last one


bug
  • list only the last revision time stamp instead of all

Offline aestend

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #261 on: April 23, 2012, 03:06:42 am »
I've been gone a while, and when I try to redownload the starter file "UfoAI_win32_build_environment_0.3.1.exe" The file size is only about 70meg and errors out. I seem to recall the file being much larger than 70meg. Is it a temporary issue? Can't wait to get back in, game seems to have improved markedly since last I was around.

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #262 on: April 23, 2012, 09:33:42 am »
Welcome back. We now offer nightly builds of the latest development version as well as our release candidate for the next stable version (2.4). Check out our downloads page under 2.4 dev for the stable release candidate and Development (latest) for a nightly build of our latest development version.

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #263 on: April 23, 2012, 06:27:37 pm »
UfoAI_win32_build_environment_0.3.1.exe is in fact just 76MB big (and working well)
You would need the source too and than you will get your >2Gig

As already mentioned
better use the nightly builds
but (self-praise ::)) i prefer this one
getting updates is easier this way

Offline aestend

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #264 on: April 24, 2012, 05:41:21 pm »
Strange, guess i'll download it again.
I hear you on the nightly build updater thing, but in the past I enjoyed editing some of the .h files to tweak the campaign difficulty :p

Using a third browser, and when extracting, it gets to 125meg processed, and then halts, and goes no further.

Even stranger, though I had tried before, using 7zip itself to unpack worked!
« Last Edit: April 24, 2012, 05:55:53 pm by aestend »

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #265 on: April 24, 2012, 06:28:05 pm »
Its an LZMA2 archive and most tools cant handle that kind of type
thats why its an sfx archive

Hope you have a fat line to the net
or you run into troubles getting the source from sourceforge
referring to http://ufoai.org/wiki/index.php/Getting_the_source#github

Would be a good idea for me to use github and than switch to sourceforge as suggested
Some work 4the weekend ;)

Offline aestend

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #266 on: April 24, 2012, 11:44:35 pm »
About 1.5 MByte/s Should suffice, considering last time (SVN days) my pipe was only 1 MegaBIT lol
Doubly strange, the make tool wouldn't start, tossed me a crash error. But works fine since I restarted my lappy.

Just want to verify, I can update mingw and codeblocks from the web right? If I can without breaking anything.... should I?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 12:18:10 am by aestend »

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #267 on: April 25, 2012, 06:36:56 pm »
the tool will do any update 4you
just run it and forget the rest

but you should realize that git is different from svn
if you modify the sources you run into troubles getting any source update

git will deny any update on top of your changes

Offline aestend

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #268 on: April 26, 2012, 03:56:21 am »
The particular thing I liked to change in the source was the attribute scores distribution on newly created soldiers. Poked around for hours, then checked the already installed ufos.pk3, and it's in one of those files :D So I'm all good.

However one particular thing I'm not sure is possible, or if it would even matter. From what I understand, if I were to build while selecting processor details for my computer(i.e. sse 4.2), it would run a bit better/smoother/faster/whatever, than the catch all PentiumSSE builds. If that is the case, then what would need to be done to build as 64bit?

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #269 on: April 26, 2012, 05:37:26 pm »
The game doesnt run faster when using sse
im using it manly for compatibility (x87 80bit <> double 64bit, rounding problem, SSE 64bit)
and 64bit is a completely different story
you need 64bit mingw and 64bit libs
which means month of work
for nearly nothing

Dont compile the game if you dont need to
no troubles on your side
Just enjoy the ride with the nightly build