project-navigation
Personal tools

Poll

Are you interested in such a script

Yes
9 (100%)
No
0 (0%)
Don't care
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 5

Voting closed: August 12, 2009, 04:03:18 pm

Author Topic: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)  (Read 94407 times)

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #150 on: June 06, 2010, 07:55:32 am »
No problem any more -> svn 30353
Some work was done on ufomodel source -> timeline
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 05:41:36 pm by Muton »

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #151 on: June 07, 2010, 02:56:35 pm »
I'm a complete novice at this. I used your program (many thanks) and when I go to load the game it shuts down. I compiled with debug, for 2.4, without any maps and with Radiant (didn't check small).

The console output is attached (this is from the little window that loads with the game, my ufoconsole.txt in Application Data was empty).

I've also attached the build log.

Let me know if you need anything else. Thanks.

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2555
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #152 on: June 07, 2010, 02:58:54 pm »
I'm a complete novice at this. I used your program (many thanks) and when I go to load the game it shuts down. I compiled with debug, for 2.4, without any maps and with Radiant (didn't check small).

The console output is attached (this is from the little window that loads with the game, my ufoconsole.txt in Application Data was empty).

I've also attached the build log.

Let me know if you need anything else. Thanks.

There is a bug in your menuscripts. Haven't you changed them?

-geever

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #153 on: June 07, 2010, 09:10:33 pm »
Odd, I missed this on my new posts list today. But yes, of course you're right. I don't know why I didn't think about that. I just added a new hud to play with and forgot to remove it before compiling.

Removed now and it loads. Now to copy the bsps in and see if I can get a map to load!

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #154 on: June 07, 2010, 11:57:48 pm »
Well, I hope this isn't another stupid mistake I'm doing. So the game loads now, but then I go to skirmish, select Africa small and load. It gets all the way through to loading the map (I can see it), but there are no soldier or alien models in sight (I can see the UFO, which is a fighter model, so at least some model is showing). Then I get the following error and it kicks me to the main screen.

Code: [Select]
2010/06/07 22:27:51 ********************
2010/06/07 22:27:51 ERROR: Unknown model type in R_DrawEntities entity chain: 0
2010/06/07 22:27:51 ********************
2010/06/07 22:27:51 Shutdown server: Server crashed.

I've run your build script without maps but I'm using the map-get.py on my full source, then copying the whole maps folder into the base directory where I'm running the game. (Building 2.4 with radiant if that matters, see above for the log of that build)

ufoconsole.txt attached (note, I started loading another map but then caused it to crash by alt-tabbing out, which always happens, I suspect because my computer just can't handle the load, but that's why the ufoconsole.txt just stops)

Offline Edi

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #155 on: June 08, 2010, 08:16:59 am »
The mapget script is dangerous, because not all of the maps there are up to date. If the already compiled maps themselves are not too large, I can probably upload them for you the next time I compile the game.

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #156 on: June 08, 2010, 10:47:47 am »
I know there have been some concerns about the map-get.py script, but it works for my needs. I'm usually just trying to get a compiled version of one of my maps after I've edited it, and I can check the logs to see if it's been done overnight.

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #157 on: June 08, 2010, 08:24:03 pm »
No offense ;)
but there is a reason why the map-download switch is disabled

Your build lack those maps
maps\b\teamroom.bsp
maps\b\ufohangar.bsp
maps\b\ufohangar_l.bsp
maps\city\citycraft_ufo_corrupter.bsp

and i dont know how much outdated maps
preCOMPILEDmaps.exe is a sfx LZMA2 package with current 2.4 2.3 maps
use this and download changed maps by hand from http://static.ufo.ludwigf.org/maps/

There is no guarantee that this is a map problem
R_DrawEntities
is related to md2 md3 files; models not maps
and because i compile static lightning (mdx) before maps
but in the same procedure
it is likely that there is your problem

I've attached a modded 0.8.0 version
it will always rebuild mdx (ufomodel) files even if map switch is deselected

>  I'm usually just trying to get a compiled version of one of my maps after I've edited it
I really hope that a map dev, compile his changed map(s) and do a fast skirmish on it, before committing



Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #158 on: June 09, 2010, 12:58:35 am »
Many thanks for the new exe. I'll try it tonight.

As for the map-get.py. I've never had a problem with any of my /city/ maps and I don't really have any other need for it. But helpful to know I can download them by hand if needed.

>  I'm usually just trying to get a compiled version of one of my maps after I've edited it
I really hope that a map dev, compile his changed map(s) and do a fast skirmish on it, before committing

I haven't even been able to run the game now for several weeks, let alone test a map. I have yet to get a 2.4 build running and of course all the maps (2.4) were conflicting with 2.3 builds, so even a fast compile wouldn't get me there. But mattn has moved the maps to 2.3 now so if the build tonight doesn't work I can download one of the recent exe's and fast compile the 2.3 versioned maps.

I realize that for the coders, running builds is a pretty simple thing. But for some of us it's a huge hurdle. Luckily, as a mapper I don't really need regularly updated builds. It's only been a problem since the 2.3/2.4 split since I can't run maps from one version in another version. And I really appreciate this utility you've built because otherwise I wouldn't even be close to figuring it out.

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2555
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #159 on: June 09, 2010, 04:30:38 am »
maps\b\teamroom.bsp
maps\b\ufohangar.bsp
maps\b\ufohangar_l.bsp

These maps should not be in any release. They have been removed from the game!
Clean up your checkout!

-geever

Offline H-Hour

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1923
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #160 on: June 09, 2010, 05:08:22 pm »
Hey Muton. I downloaded the new .exe for building and tried it last night, but still getting the R_DrawEntities entity chain: 0 message when I try to load a map.

For now I'll download one of the latest 2.3's. Mattn told me how I can test my maps out in a 2.3 build (just need to handle the maps.ufo file differently).

I don't know if it's compile related or really anything, but if you think it's something the build process can work out, let me know if you need me to do any more reporting on it.

Offline pleasedontspamme

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #161 on: June 12, 2010, 08:13:42 pm »
I deleted my source files and redownloaded them, and i'm still getting the same error.

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #162 on: June 13, 2010, 07:10:04 am »
I have no problem
Same svn revision and ufomodel is working well

Whats your CPU type?

Offline pleasedontspamme

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #163 on: June 13, 2010, 07:13:43 pm »
AMD Turion X2

Offline Muton

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: make_UfoAI_win32 (all in one win32 build script)
« Reply #164 on: June 14, 2010, 06:18:31 pm »


change ( purple arrow )
ufo2map compiler setting:
from
modify
to
default

Let me know if this will fix it or not