project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Map problem, graphically, hopefully with information to tell what's going on  (Read 6663 times)

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
So I've posted some examples of how the map looks bad on PPC macs.

Today, I ran across something by accident. The map looks good when the window is not active, and covered by another window. Maybe.

The ufo window is updating and changing what is displayed when another window is active, and placed over it, and moving. And, the display in the UFO map changes based on what's in the moving window.

If I have a mostly white finder window, I get a brighter UFO map -- bright enough that it looks good. The problems seem to be one of brightness -- Ufo seems to want to normally make parts of the map darker, and that's what it does badly. For testing: Is there a way to force full brightness when playing?

Equally, when I move a window over, UFO acts like the map needs to be made brighter, and it works. But the brightness isn't constant.

If I move a mostly green window over, such as activity monitor, then the greenness shows up in the map.

Here's an attached picture that shows what's going on. Why Ufo would care about other windows, I don't know.

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
tracking the map issue in past versions
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 02:14:43 am »
Going back in history, trying to find out where the maps last worked on G4.

22268, with the "brush byteswap", does not display properly. This version was the first that was supposed to work from the command line.
Code: [Select]
Index: src/common/cmodel.c
===================================================================
--- src/common/cmodel.c (revision 22268)
+++ src/common/cmodel.c (working copy)
@@ -279,6 +279,16 @@
  out->firstbrushside = LittleLong(in->firstbrushside);
  out->numsides = LittleLong(in->numsides);
  out->contentFlags = LittleLong(in->contentFlags);
+
+ /* fix byteswap issue */
+ if (out->numsides > 500)
+ {
+ out->numsides = in->numsides;
+ out->contentFlags = in->contentFlags;
+ out->firstbrushside=in->firstbrushside;
+ }
+
+
  }
 }
 


Kleiman-ibook:trunk michael$ egrep lightmap ~/.ufoai/2.3-dev/base/keys.cfg
bind m "r_lightmap 1; r_deluxemap 0"
bind n "r_lightmap 0; r_deluxemap 1"
Kleiman-ibook:trunk michael$

Alright, I've got my lightmap toggles, right?

For whatever reason, half of that command adjusts the screen, and the other half goes into chat.

Pictures in two posts; it won't let me put them in one (claims too big)

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: tracking the map issue in past versions
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 02:17:38 am »
And the colored version

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Happens on 2009-01-15 (21824).

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Happens on 2009-01-15 (21824).

do you mean that this revision introduced it? because the revision you showed here is nothing renderer related: http://ufoai.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/ufoai?view=rev&revision=21824

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Nope, still going backwards in time trying to find it.

Happens in -r20959 (2008-12-20) on Wilderness; that revision won't play an assembled map (africa).

Still trying to find when it works ...

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Present in 18605 (going back before 18829 when the shaders were changed).

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Present in 17430 {2008-06-26}


Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
looks like its quite old - thanks for your work to find out which revision broke this.

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Revision {2008-04-10}, 16256, sometimes works, and sometimes fails.

Still testing...

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Revision {2008-04-01}, 16032, has this.

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
"has this" means that it has the error, too?

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Yep.


Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Ok, something is really odd here. I'm back farther than the 2.2.1 branch, and its still showing up this way.

So the new hypothesis: This came up in 2.2.1 testing, and was fixed in 2.2.1, but after the 2.2.1 branch was made.

Rewinding off the 2.2.1 branch to see if it shows up...

Offline keybounce

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Ok, rewinding off the 2.2 branch :-).

working: branches/ufoai_2.2 -r 24913
working: branches/ufoai_2.2 -r 16579 (the 2.2.1 tag)

-r16511: The geoscape error shows up!
Battle map works fine.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 03:00:48 am by keybounce »