project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Can't start map  (Read 4174 times)

Offline Another Guy

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Can't start map
« on: July 07, 2009, 03:50:48 am »
I'm having trouble in starting a specific map. Console won't show his name, so I took a screenshot in case map objective helps.

When dropship arrives and I hit enter, game tries to enter map but instantly crashes back to geoscape. Console returns:

ERROR: SV_AddMapTiles: Impossible to assemble map



After that, if I try to enter map again, program crashes telling server is still loaded.

It is the only map I had trouble so far. Deleting and reassembling the maps (.bsp) didn't help.

Edit: Maybe it has to do with the fact I'm using herakles dropship (or not). I deleted the alien base requirement from research.ufo so I could have a faster dropship. However, all other maps simply use firebird model instead and it always works fine for me.

Edit 2: R25029
« Last Edit: July 07, 2009, 10:46:00 am by Another Guy »

odie

  • Guest
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2009, 05:39:27 am »
I'm having trouble in starting a specific map. Console won't show his name, so I took a screenshot in case map objective helps.

When dropship arrives and I hit enter, game tries to enter map but instantly crashes back to geoscape. Console returns:

ERROR: SV_AddMapTiles: Impossible to assemble map

After that, if I try to enter map again, program crashes telling server is still loaded.

It is the only map I had trouble so far. Deleting and reassembling the maps (.bsp) didn't help.

Edit: Maybe it has to do with the fact I'm using herakles dropship (or not). I deleted the alien base requirement from research.ufo so I could have a faster dropship. However, all other maps simply use firebird model instead and it always works fine for me.

Eh, u mean u modified the main file so u have a faster dropship? -.-" Bad Boy.

Anyway, u might have to ask if 'herakles dropship' model is out or not..... might be the case....... Map developers have to confirm on this.......

Again, Bad Boy Another Guy. :P

Offline Another Guy

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2009, 05:44:31 am »
Tested with a firebird. Not a dropship model problem.

odie

  • Guest
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2009, 07:14:16 am »
Tested with a firebird. Not a dropship model problem.

Maybe u can attach a savegame here for the team? :D
And oh, the revision nos of the built u have? I believed u self-compiled rite?

And to clarify stuff, u mentioned 'console return' -> Meaning its a windows error (like a popup?) or was it in the console of UFOAI (which means u can attach the console log file pls). :D

Offline Another Guy

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2009, 10:53:55 am »
Maybe u can attach a savegame here for the team? :D
I've overwritten the save already.  :(
Anyway, pretty reproduceble. Simply try to start that given map. lol

And oh, the revision nos of the built u have? I believed u self-compiled rite?
Yep, self compiled. Edited first post with revision (R25029).

And to clarify stuff, u mentioned 'console return' -> Meaning its a windows error (like a popup?) or was it in the console of UFOAI (which means u can attach the console log file pls). :D
No popup. Just hit "~" key to open console after crash. Didnt kept console log as this is really the only message (after hitting "enter mission", console shows an autosave, then the message, then simply reloads a new music as it always does when it crashes back to geoscape).

odie

  • Guest
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2009, 11:32:05 am »
I've overwritten the save already.  :(
Anyway, pretty reproduceble. Simply try to start that given map. lol
Yep, self compiled. Edited first post with revision (R25029).
No popup. Just hit "~" key to open console after crash. Didnt kept console log as this is really the only message (after hitting "enter mission", console shows an autosave, then the message, then simply reloads a new music as it always does when it crashes back to geoscape).

Hmmmm, stumped.

I will go back and try that map with skirmish then.....
What is the name of the map that is loaded again??

*PS: just a very slim chance.... did u compile all the maps correctly? :P*

Offline Mattn

  • CaveExpress
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4830
  • www.caveproductions.org
    • View Profile
    • CaveExpress
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2009, 01:40:28 pm »
Impossible to assemble map is an error in the ump file.

Offline Another Guy

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2009, 07:37:16 pm »
Well, deleted entire maps folder, updated SVN and recompiled maps again. I'll see if it works when I get than map again in game.

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2553
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2009, 07:42:28 pm »
If it's an ump error it won't.

(*.ump files describe the possible assemblies for RMA maps.)

-geever

Offline Another Guy

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2009, 08:23:23 pm »
Well, then it's officially a bug. Console doesn't say the map name until it's actually loaded, so I'm not sure which map is it. But judging by the map description ("A suburban district of an oriental area"), I'd guess problem should be on oriental.ump file.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2009, 08:30:48 pm by Another Guy »

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2553
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2009, 08:27:33 pm »
Do a debug_listmissions. The mapDef value is the map "theme".

-geever

Offline Another Guy

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2009, 09:05:54 pm »
I'll try to force another UFO to crash on north africa to get that map again. In the meanwhile, I tried skirmish on oriental maps. Skirmish list 4 variations to play (in that order):

  • +oriental
  • oriental
  • +oriental
  • +oriental

I have no clue what the "+" means. Fact is, the first 2 ones (loading screen says "oriental medium" for the first one and "oriental" for the second) work fine. Last 2 both cause the same error message and crash back to game menu. I guess this is the corrupted map.

Obs. There is also a "oriental_mosque" map which works fine.


Do a debug_listmissions. The mapDef value is the map "theme".

-geever
Where do I type it? Console list it as an unknown command. Creating a shortcut like "ufo.exe debug_listmissions" does nothing as well. It just starts game normally.

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2553
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2009, 01:44:20 am »
I have no clue what the "+" means.

Maps with + are RMAs (Random Map Assemblies)

Where do I type it? Console list it as an unknown command. Creating a shortcut like "ufo.exe debug_listmissions" does nothing as well. It just starts game normally.

Console. Make sure you compiled the game in debug mode (windows_debug target), also use tab-completition feature I wrote it by head, maybe it's in singular or mistyped it.

-geever

Offline Another Guy

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2009, 10:55:07 pm »
Oh, got it. was using regular complie (faster). Recompiled to debug one.

odie

  • Guest
Re: Can't start map
« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2009, 06:51:13 am »
Oh, got it. was using regular compile (faster). Recompiled to debug one.

So after the debug one, is everything fixed so far??

As in found the issue??