project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: cannot walk to the roof - R24810  (Read 2701 times)

8472

  • Guest
cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« on: June 23, 2009, 11:57:22 pm »
in a mission i'm unable to walk to the roof (see the attachment). and i remember that previously on 2.1 it was possible to access the roof of that building

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2009, 12:02:26 am »
Yet another case of the 'stairway bug' we are working on.
Do you happen to know which map it was ?

8472

  • Guest
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2009, 12:13:02 am »
Yet another case of the 'stairway bug' we are working on.
of course. i'm only reporting :)

Do you happen to know which map it was ?
well, here you have it as the attachment, that is that map.
anyway, i think it wasn't only the stairs to that roof, but also those second stairs above that yardang/breach


[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2009, 12:22:39 am »
Yeah, I think I've seen that map before. Could you please figure out the *name* of that map for me ?
Or maybe someone knows it by heart ?

(That map is interesting for me because it's a non-RMA map.)

Offline Another Guy

  • Squad Leader
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2009, 12:43:58 am »
I may be wrong, but I believe it is "scout_crash".

8472

  • Guest
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2009, 11:26:46 am »
Yeah, I think I've seen that map before. Could you please figure out the *name* of that map for me ?
Or maybe someone knows it by heart ?

(That map is interesting for me because it's a non-RMA map.)

well, if you tell me how to find the name of it?

I may be wrong, but I believe it is "scout_crash".
yes, i think i've noticed some similar name during load process of the mission.

Offline Kildor

  • Project Artist
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 757
  • Project mapper and some other stuff`er
    • View Profile
    • http://ufoai.nx0.ru
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2009, 12:42:52 pm »
You can read the name in gameconsole (~), or in log in profiledir.

8472

  • Guest
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2009, 01:22:34 pm »
You can read the name in gameconsole (~), or in log in profiledir.

well, i can read the logs, but i dunno which of it is the name of a mission. there is a lot of info's, and it could be anything.

anyway, i've found another stairs (both stairs in the building) bug, see the attachment, and the building on the bottom.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2009, 09:14:29 pm »
@Another Guy:
Yes, it is scout_crash. Thx :)

@8472:
I can confirm the prob with R24821. Investigating...

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: cannot walk to the roof - R24810
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2009, 10:54:30 pm »
@8472:
When looking at the log right after you encountered the prob, search upwards from the end of the log and look for a line like
Map:fighter_crash  Offset:(0, 0, 0)

@Mattn:
At least it's not a prob with the pathfinding *code* :)
This prob can be solved in two ways:

a) increasing #define   PATHFINDING_MIN_STEPUP from 2 to 3 let's me happily walk both stairways.
(That's the max height delta between two stairs).
Maybe that's a topic for our mailinglist ?

b) map editing
The first step of the stairway to the upper house is too high. Adding one more stair at the bottom should solve it.
Not sure about the stairway to the roof. 8 stairs for one level *should* be ok. Might be a rounding problem (stairs should be at 8,16,24,...) or an unlucky misalignment with MicroTrace().