project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Does the sniper rifle need to be nerfed?  (Read 6319 times)

Ildamos

Does the sniper rifle need to be nerfed?
« on: May 13, 2009, 10:12:07 am »
"Some people equip their entire squad with sniper rifles"

With that, I think the weapon's imba.

Maybe limit the viewing arc of the soldiers handling them? This can reflect the fact that snipers do scope and therefore have limited awareness.

odie

Re: Does the sniper rifle need to be nerfed?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2009, 12:06:59 pm »
"Some people equip their entire squad with sniper rifles"

With that, I think the weapon's imba.

Maybe limit the viewing arc of the soldiers handling them? This can reflect the fact that snipers do scope and therefore have limited awareness.

Actually, i use a high accuracy rifle with 4 x scope too..... but i dun have limited awareness.... not practical.
(Yes, i was a soldier and is still active reservist.....)

:P

We should just leave it as it is..... :)

Besides, in this high tech age, we have comms, so the eyes and ears of our comrades are ours too. :)

Offline Colamann

• Rookie
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2009, 12:15:15 pm »
Right now the devs are putting the finishing touches on armor, and IIRC more balancing is scheduled for the time after that is finished.

Offline BTAxis

• Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2009, 12:23:29 pm »
More balancing is always scheduled.

Ildamos

« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2009, 02:44:05 pm »
Thanks all! Good to know that the community is aware of this.

@Odie: good point. From a game's perspective though, the exclusive usage of some unit/weapon is something to be looked into however. The fact that many players exclusively use sniper rifles is very disturbing.

But ya, further discussion in this thread is moot as Colamann and BTAxis have implied that future balancing will hopefully fix this.

Offline Colamann

• Rookie
    • View Profile