project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: OGM Windows Support  (Read 5032 times)

Offline Destructavator

• Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
OGM Windows Support
« on: April 27, 2009, 12:39:40 am »
currently ogm support is disabled in windows builds - i wasn't able to find (official) dll files for windows for theora and xvidcore - and there seams to be a problem in the vorbis dev archive i've added to the new codeblocks version ( http://mattn.ninex.info/download/codeblocks.zip )

we could really need some windows developer or user that is able to look into this.

I can help - I use both Windows and Linux, although Windows more, I know some stuff about video editing and codecs and such, although as far as programming I'm still rather new to C/C++ and the languages which aren't web-based (like Java and HTML, which I do know).

currently ogm support is disabled in windows builds - i wasn't able to find (official) dll files for windows for theora and xvidcore - and there seams to be a problem in the vorbis dev archive i've added to the new codeblocks version ( http://mattn.ninex.info/download/codeblocks.zip )

The Xvid issue is easy to answer - first off, the Xvid dev team doesn't release builds, only source code, however they link to and recommend people's sites that offer builds for Windows.  According to Koepi's site (one site they link to), Koepi offers two builds, one which is a plain, unmodified simple compile of the official code packaged with a simple installer, and another with some experimental add-on features.  The former, the unmodified one, contains the xvidcore.DLL file in the installer (I've used this particular installer many times before, I use Xvid a lot) so that DLL isn't hard to get.

As for theora, I've hardly ever touched that codec, but I'll look into it.