project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Cant start UFO:AI  (Read 13384 times)

MipSpec109

Cant start UFO:AI
« on: March 30, 2009, 12:21:06 am »
Hello all. I'm a outright noob at linux AND computers. I downloaded UFO:AI ver. 2.2 and started the .run file which i downloaded from sourceforge.net. installation went smoothly and it finished with no problems at all. however, when i went to the directory and tried to run the executable file, nothing happened. any help would be appreciated =)

Offline Valis

• Rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Cant start UFO:AI
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 08:57:25 am »
What message do you get on your console?
What linux distribution do you use?

There are several similar threads on this forum, did you try any of the proposed solutions in those topics?

Offline geever

• Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2009, 02:57:07 pm »
There is a shellscript runs the binary. It sets working directory and so AFAIR.

-geever

MipSpec109

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2009, 12:14:40 am »
i get a message that ask me if i wan to run the executable (ufoai) "In Terminal" "Display" "Cancel" or "Run". i tried the run command but nothing happens. i also try the ./ufoai command in Terminal but it says the directory doesnt exist.

i have Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Hardy

what is this shell script though?

Offline Valis

• Rookie
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2009, 08:52:08 am »
Were are you running the command from?

I also think you try the wrong command. It is not './ufoai'. Try './ufo' instead.

When I am back at home I will give you the exact path you should be in while running the script [unless someone has this info already]

MipSpec109

« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2009, 06:54:43 pm »
im running the command via Terminal. ive also tried to run the game through the directory.

when i use ./ufo it says there is no such file/directory. when i use ./ufoai it says "./ufoai is a directory"