project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Error loading the game  (Read 5270 times)

Offline viktormg

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Error loading the game
« on: March 13, 2009, 11:15:02 am »
Ok i have this problem when i am trying to start the the game (version 2.3)


---- filesystem initialization -----
Adding game dir: ./base
Adding game dir: C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\UFOAI/2.3-dev/base
using C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\UFOAI/2.3-dev/base for writing
executing default.cfg
couldn't execute config.cfg
executing keys.cfg

----- network initialization -------
libcurl/7.16.4 zlib/1.2.2 initialized.

------ server initialization -------
added 7 maps to the mapcycle

----- console initialization -------
Console initialized.

------- video initialization -------
SDL version: 1.2.12
I: desktop depth: 32bpp
I: video memory: 0
I: video driver: windib
I: setting mode 6: 1024x768 (fullscreen: no)
I: set swap control to 0
I: got 8 bits of stencil
I: got 24 bits of depth buffer
I: got double buffer
I: got 8 bits for red
I: got 8 bits for green
I: got 8 bits for blue
I: got 0 bits for alpha
I: got 0 multisample buffers
GL_VENDOR: NVIDIA Corporation
GL_RENDERER: GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X/AGP/SSE2
GL_VERSION: 1.4.0
GL_EXTENSIONS: GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_window_pos GL_S3_s3tc GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_paletted_texture GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_cube_map GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_lod GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_KTX_buffer_region GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_fence GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil GL_NV_pixel_data_range GL_NV_point_sprite GL_NV_register_combiners GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_env_combine4 GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_NV_vertex_array_range GL_NV_vertex_array_range2 GL_NV_vertex_program GL_NV_vertex_program1_1 GL_NVX_ycrcb GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_multitexture GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_WIN_swap_hint WGL_EXT_swap_control
max texture units: 2
max texture size: detected 2048
SDL_ttf version 2.0.7 - we need at least 2.0.7

------- sound initialization -------
SDL_mixer version: 1.2.8
... audio rate: 44100
... audio channels: 2
... driver: 'dsound'
... channels to mix sounds: 8

------- input initialization -------
0 possible joysticks
no joystick found.

----------- parse scripts ----------
Can not open C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\UFOAI/2.3-dev/base/history for writing
Wrote keys.cfg

Com_ParseItem: MAX_OBJDEFS exceeded

I look at this folder in Application Data but its everytime with read-only attribute i cant change it anyway so some ideas how to fix it ?


Offline Valis

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2009, 02:31:47 pm »
I bet you use Vista. Are you sure you have the full access rights to that folder?

Offline viktormg

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2009, 06:51:57 pm »
Nope i am using XP, yes i have full permissions but cant change read-only attribute .. i have no idea, that doesnt happen before ..  i compiled the game with C:B get no errors so ?

Offline bayo

  • Professional loser
  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2009, 12:01:44 am »
Hello. Are you administrator of your computer? Do you use this account to compile and play the game?

Offline viktormg

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2009, 12:49:40 am »
Yes i am ... i am using this account for everything, i think this is some bug in windows so i'll try to reinstall it and recompile the game

Offline Valis

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2009, 08:22:38 am »
Then maybe it is a virus that messed up your access settings in the system. Any odd behaviour in other places?

Other thing that comes to my mind is that you have a domain account and something is wrong with those privilages.

Offline BTAxis

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *******
  • Posts: 2607
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2009, 10:26:56 am »
He might also be out of disk space, but that's even less likely than a virus.

Offline bayo

  • Professional loser
  • Project Coder
  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2009, 10:30:11 am »
can you type this command on your Windows console and see the result?

Quote
echo echo %appdata% ; %userprofile% ; %username%

Offline viktormg

  • Cannon Fodder
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2009, 11:13:39 am »
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>echo %appdata% ; %userprofile% ; %userna
me%
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data ; C:\Documents and Sett
ings\Administrator ; Administrator

Ok i think i understood the problem ...  like i said before this is bug that happen sometimes in windows xp, i think so because i have none at the given problems

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2009, 10:25:51 pm »
Same here, running XP, SP3.
Actually, XP shows ALL folders as write protected. Standard behaviour.

But UFO:AI can happily write keys.cfg, ufoconsole.log etc. in the base folder.
So being not able to write the 'history' file sounds much more like a UFO bug to me.
Or is 'history' meant to be a folder ?

Offline Duke

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1037
    • View Profile
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2009, 12:04:19 am »
I ventured into the code a bit and found out
1. 'history' is a file, not a folder.
2. FS_OpenFile(f) *sometimes* has a memset(f) before it. Paranoid or needed ?
3. tried to reproduce with current trunk (rev 23542) but couldn't.
4. my old 'history' and 'console.log' files differed by some 14 day though. Now they match.

@viktormg:
Plz try with latest trunk code and report whether the prob persists or not.

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Error loading the game
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2009, 08:08:02 am »
history writing should be fixed

2. FS_OpenFile(f) *sometimes* has a memset(f) before it. Paranoid or needed ?

paranoid - in fact it should be removed.