project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Errors  (Read 9555 times)

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2555
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2009, 12:08:13 am »
debug_map 1 will draw boxes that shows if a cell is accessible. To activate it: Open the game console (Sh+ESC), write the command in (+<return>), and close the console by hitting ESC.

-geever

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2009, 01:48:00 am »


sometimes it works, but most of the time it doesnt. I have to hope that the aliens are out of their ship

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2009, 02:04:04 am »
Vedrit, You might want to play with a more up-to-date build.  Since your first post I've already uploaded a new binary:

http://www.destructavator.com/public/ufoai_2_3Dev_r22529_m22519.zip

...And this link is to one with re-built maps.

I don't know if that will solve the problem or not, but from looking at the SVN logs I can tell you I have seen work being done on the ufo2map program and what I'm guessing is the part of the game that deals with this issue.

Exactly what is different with the maps with this latest binary I couldn't say - you'd have to ask the coders - and I can't guarantee this would be a fix, but it might be worth a try.  (Although your saved games might not work with the update, sorry.)

If you want to try getting an SVN copy and compiling it for the very latest version, I'm sure a number of us here can help you with that, if you get stuck following the wiki instructions.

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2009, 05:14:01 am »
well, like i say, it sometimes works.



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2009, 03:04:45 am »
seriously...we need an alt for your installer destructor...its taken me several hours, and im nut sure this current download will finish


which it didnt

Offline iliaarpad

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #20 on: February 13, 2009, 04:04:04 pm »
I will upload a recent build (r22613) to megaupload and post the link in the appropriate topic. But please(!) only use it if you can't download it from Destructavator's site. Too many people downloading it may violate the terms of use (at megaupload) and I wouldn't want that.

I'm currently uploading the file and will post the link once it is done

EDIT: Upload completed, added link to it's appropriate topic.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 07:14:53 pm by iliaarpad »

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #21 on: February 15, 2009, 07:24:49 am »
well, downloaded r22529, and went into a mission (Saves still worked), this is what I got.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: February 15, 2009, 08:49:55 am by vedrit »

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #22 on: February 15, 2009, 03:32:28 pm »
Saved games are generally *not* compatible between builds, at least not completely, and using a saved game from one build loaded in another can cause issues, as well as bugs from a previous build to persist or even get worse.  If you change build or game versions, you need to start a new game to minimize issues.  (Sorry!)

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2555
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #23 on: February 15, 2009, 03:36:14 pm »
This shouldn't be an issue of the savegame as we doesn't save battles. I can imagine some map issues btw.

-geever

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #24 on: February 15, 2009, 10:21:44 pm »
Thats what I though, Geever. If the maps were re-made, then the saves shouldnt be an issue. I'll start a new game just in case Im wrong.

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #25 on: February 21, 2009, 05:56:46 am »
Windows XP Home SP3
UFO:AI r22773
Still having issues going into the alien dropship.


I would post a screenshot, but my computer didnt take one....thought it did.
Basically, same issue as before. Look at the past ones. Same areas of no-go

I also got

UFO_IsUFOSeenOnGeoscape: ufo install_equipment can't be used on geoscape
Shot it down, saved, and it was gone when I exited the save screen
« Last Edit: February 21, 2009, 11:04:47 pm by vedrit »

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #26 on: February 22, 2009, 04:51:58 am »
Well, found something interesting...See the attached screenshot

Also, I was playing a mission, and got this

Mem_Free: bad memory header top sentinel [buffer underflow]
free: C:\UFOai\src\common\common.c:#1398
==== ShutdownGame ====
Wrote keys.cfg

Shutdown

And then, later, got this

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: February 22, 2009, 06:32:56 am by vedrit »

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2555
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #27 on: February 22, 2009, 11:23:45 am »
verdit, that chatmessage shows me that your binary and ufoscript files are not in sync.

-geever

Offline vedrit

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #28 on: February 22, 2009, 10:38:10 pm »
Yeah......that doesnt tell me much....

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2555
    • View Profile
Re: Errors
« Reply #29 on: February 23, 2009, 12:17:32 am »
update your checkout, (check if there are differences (svn diff)), recompile the whole workspace, and update pk3 files if you use such.

We modify things so a new binary with old scripts (or old binary&&new scripts) can cause strange issues...

-geever