project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Global Map error  (Read 12337 times)

Offline GIJOE317

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Global Map error
« on: January 21, 2009, 08:04:40 pm »
When I'm in the geoscape, I can only see 1/2 the map.
Everything on the right is full of odd images until it is day
on that side of the world.

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2009, 10:12:32 pm »
attach a screenshot please - did you check your gamma settings? which hardware... we need more information to be able to help you or to identify a bug

Offline GIJOE317

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 03:26:50 am »

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2009, 06:33:22 pm »
[...] which hardware... we need more information to be able to help you or to identify a bug

Offline GIJOE317

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2009, 03:29:13 am »

odie

  • Guest
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2009, 09:30:27 am »
What do you mean "which hardware"?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v633/gijoeaddict/prps.jpg

Hi GIJoe,

Try providing for us your hardware by this:
First, u r using Win XP.
So, goto Start, Run, key in "dxdiag" without the quotes.

Then perhaps you can do a screen shot of the following tabs:
See my uploaded shots for example.

You can also repeat for sound, music and input tabs, though i doubt its related to those.

This way, ppl around can help you better....

You might want to upload your screen current resolution. That might help too.
The rest of the info should be in the screenies. :)

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline GIJOE317

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2009, 03:50:25 am »
thanks ... img attached ...


[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline GIJOE317

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2009, 03:33:41 am »
*bump*

odie

  • Guest
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2009, 09:22:21 am »
Hi GIJoe,

Happy Lunar New Year!
Sorry was away last 2 days haha.

Just to summarise ur system:
You are running single core, Intel Celeron 2.2GHz, 768MB Ram (Physical Memory) running an integrated Intel Graphics Card 82845 series with 64MB Shared Memory.

The drivers seemed to be the original old driver.

Technically, you have swap file of about 1GB (which probably is windows managed).

Lets try something simple for a start on graphics.
You are using 1280 x 1024. Try reducing that to 800x600 or 1024x768 for a start. Try 800x600 first and see if they works for you.

If they dont, you might be facing an issue i have with my very old system - drivers issue.
For layman, can go to Intel Graphics Auto Detection and update your intel drivers.

You might need to enable java on that site. Its safe, so dun worry.

Lets try these 2 for a start -
1) Changing the resolution.
2) Updating the graphics card drivers.

PS: After updating the drivers, you might need to restart, which i am highly recommending. :)
Hope it works for ye!

Offline geever

  • Project Coder
  • PHALANX Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2009, 11:32:19 am »
And try enabling 'texture compression' option in ufo:ai video options if didn't try yet.

-geever

Offline GIJOE317

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2009, 08:55:54 pm »
What makes matters worse, is I am at 75% capacity on the hard drive.
I have virtualy nothing or have removed all unused items from
the add / remove programs list that I do not use any more.
I saved 1gb by doing so.
I have no photos or music, they are  all on a 2 gb flash drive now.

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2009, 12:34:26 am »
One trick that makes a substantial increase in performance and frees up resources on Windows is to disable themes and enhancements.  Also, going to the services under administrative tools and turning off much of the garbage installed by default when Windows is installed helps quite a bit.

Useful searches on the net are for "turning off unnecessary services in windows xp" and also looking at articles for DAW/Music/Sound creation on Windows where they talk about how to fine-tune and optimize performance on Windows XP, and discussion on what is and isn't safe to disable or turn off.

Believe me, when all the optimizations are added up it really does make a difference.

Right now I'm typing this on my other computer with Linux booted and running, but if you would like screenshots later, just ask.

Finally, if you've been removing old stuff and didn't re-install Windows, a registry cleaner might help a little to tidy up loose remains of old software, how much it helps depends on what you've removed.

Offline GIJOE317

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2009, 03:13:19 am »
Driver updated, and I already turned all programs off with a microsoft program.
http://onecare.live.com/site/en-us/default.htm

Registry cleaner ... I went to download.com yesterday, and downloaded this:
http://www.download.com/1-Click-PC-Fix/3000-2086_4-10369413.html

It was riddled with so many bug/viruses, it wouldn't load because my virus program
was shutting it down.

Offline BTAxis

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *******
  • Posts: 2607
    • View Profile
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2009, 03:19:18 am »
I never found the registry to make much of a difference anyway.

odie

  • Guest
Re: Global Map error
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2009, 03:31:35 am »
One trick that makes a substantial increase in performance and frees up resources on Windows is to disable themes and enhancements.  Also, going to the services under administrative tools and turning off much of the garbage installed by default when Windows is installed helps quite a bit.

Useful searches on the net are for "turning off unnecessary services in windows xp" and also looking at articles for DAW/Music/Sound creation on Windows where they talk about how to fine-tune and optimize performance on Windows XP, and discussion on what is and isn't safe to disable or turn off.

Believe me, when all the optimizations are added up it really does make a difference.

Right now I'm typing this on my other computer with Linux booted and running, but if you would like screenshots later, just ask.

Finally, if you've been removing old stuff and didn't re-install Windows, a registry cleaner might help a little to tidy up loose remains of old software, how much it helps depends on what you've removed.

Still to add on, if u really want to optimise esp the All-not-so-mighty and inefficient windows, try these:
1) goto WinSecret's Homepage and download the program, Winsecret.

Follow these Steps:
a. Install the program (as administrator if u r not).
b. Select "Windows Core".
    i. Under "Windows XP Prefetch", Select "Monitor Boot Launch Only"
    ii. Under Windows Time Out, Clik on the "Recommended" Button below.
    iii. Under "Cache", if you have >256MB Ram (If not, pls get an upgrade!), Select "Improve Core Performance" as checked, Select your disk cache size as twice the recommended value (x2 and key in manually), and try to detect your processor's level 2 cache automatically by clicking that button.
    iv. A note of warning, DO NOT BUSYBODY and select security's "Enable Clear Page File at Shutdown". I am not going to details, if u wan, just PM me.
    v. Save and Then u r done with Windows core.

c. I wont go into details for the other menus, but basically u can use this program to control alot of other stuff in windows and its free for home use. Next on to other cleaners.

d. Goto Crap Cleaner Download and download the latest crap cleaner program.

   i. Install as administrator (yupz pls, do this for subsequent programs....)
   ii. Run program.
   iii. Under Cleaner, Select "Analyse", then wait for results to appear.
   iv. Once results displayed, you may just want to "Run Cleaner" for all..... this will remove some of your recent shortcuts and links, internet cache and some other redundant files. If you want to keep any of these, i recommend highly u run thru the options on the left BEFORE analysing......
   v. Under Registry, next, "SCAN FOR ISSUES", and you can safely "Fix Selected Issues" for all rubbish and redundant registry issues you found. Its quite safe, and dun worry, if u need to, make a backup of your registry.... the program will prompt u......

e. There, you are done with programs. Next run your Computer management console.
-> Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Computer Mangement. (this is in classic mode).
-> Select disk management. This will display all drives on your system at moment (in windows).
-> Right clik on each drive and select properties.
-> Select cleanup if you want for all drives.
-> It would be wise to finish up with a defrag for each drive after that.

This should help speed up your system a bit.
If u really want a ram manager, try [ur=http://files.filefront.com/FreeRamXPProzip/;7039503;/fileinfo.html]FreeramXP Pro[/url]

I would recommend scanning your system for spyware using Spybot Search and Destroy currently in version 1.6.2. Update definations before scanning and immunization though.

Okie, thats it. :)