project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Well hello!  (Read 2366 times)

Volatar

Well hello!
« on: March 01, 2009, 09:26:35 pm »
I would just like to stop in and say hello. I am a recent X-Com convert, but I have become a fanatical fan in a matter of weeks. I am still playing through the original game right now, but I also picked up UFO:AI here, and man, this is amazing.

The work you guys have done here has far surpassed any other attempt at an X-Com remake, is already very playable, stable, and fun. Great work.

I am happy to join your ranks. I am a high school student, and prospective Computer Science major, and I will happily throw my abilities in with all of you. I am amazed that I have finally found the open source project I really can, and want, to contribute to.

I will see you all around here, and hope to get to know you all well.

Offline Mattn

• Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Well hello!
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2009, 09:37:29 pm »
hi and welcome.

if you wanna contribute please join our irc channel at irc.freenode.org #ufoai .

the general way to get involved is to create one or two patches that must be accepted by us. once that is done, you can get write access to the svn.

what is your experience? programming, modelling, something else?

greetings and hope to hear back from you

Volatar

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2009, 10:17:07 pm »
My experience is quite limited in anything. I have dabbled in many areas with many tools just because I love to play with that kind of stuff, but not in depth in much.

Here, I will take the list from the wiki and detail it out.

You can contribute in several ways:

Coding - I have had 2 semesters of programming class (C++), so this is likely the area I am most experienced in, but I am unsure on how much I could do, as I will have to learn many things to "get up to speed" to contribute to the code itself. I can try however.