project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Linux (Kubuntu 7.10) - First mission won't load, can't leave geoscape...  (Read 2417 times)

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Another bug, with SVN version 13699: When starting a new game and attempting to enter the first mission to go to the battlescape, the screen flickers but then stays on the geoscape, the actual mission never comes up.

I also found this in the terminal when running the game (hope this helps):

------- Loading game.so -------
LoadLibrary (./base/game.so)
==== InitGame ====
CM_AddMapTile: orientaln/or_h03 has wrong version number (71 should be 72)
********************
ERROR: CM_AddMapTile: orientaln/or_h03 has wrong version number (71 should be 72)
********************


Not being a C programmer, I'm not sure what this means.  I've noticed this problem for several days through SVN revisions, at first I thought I grabbed a broken revision and updating would fix it, but this error has been persisting.

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Linux (Kubuntu 7.10) - First mission won't load, can't leave geoscape...
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2007, 12:17:56 pm »
we changed the bsp format in current trunk (not for 2.2) - so you have to recompile the maps (first delete the bsp files)

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Linux (Kubuntu 7.10) - First mission won't load, can't leave geoscape...
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2007, 12:21:17 pm »
Btw. did you have the time to look into the intro sequence?

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Re: Linux (Kubuntu 7.10) - First mission won't load, can't leave geoscape...
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2007, 05:54:49 pm »
Quote
we changed the bsp format in current trunk (not for 2.2) - so you have to recompile the maps (first delete the bsp files)

Thanks, I'll try it later to make sure it works.

Quote
Btw. did you have the time to look into the intro sequence?

I apologize - I'm a student in college as well as the other work I do, I just finished up finals yesterday so I was out of the loop for a while; I haven't checked this forum for several days (things got crazy with studying, etc.) so I had to read through the posts and need to catch up.  The good news is that I'm now off on break and should have more spare time than usual to work on side projects, including contributing to this game.

Regarding the intro, is the latest rendered file the one titled "warp5_xvid.avi" and was there anything in particular that was agreed needed to be done with it?  Sorry, I'm still catching up reading through the posts...

From what I see in the warp5 file, I could add FX, a soundtrack, and if desired, the clip I posted before to the end of it.

(Since this is off-topic, I'll also post this in the other thread so the others don't miss it.)

Offline Destructavator

  • Combination Multiple Specialty Developer
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1908
  • Creater of Scorchcrafter, knows the zarakites...
    • View Profile
Re: Linux (Kubuntu 7.10) - First mission won't load, can't leave geoscape...
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2007, 01:35:49 pm »
Quote
we changed the bsp format in current trunk (not for 2.2) - so you have to recompile the maps (first delete the bsp files)

I tried this and it didn't work...  I deleted every single bsp file and let my computer run overnight recompiling all the maps from scratch, and got the same error.

Not sure what I'm doing wrong - would I be better off deleting *all* the files and re-downloading the entire trunk from the SVN again (starting completely from scratch)?

Offline Mattn

  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4831
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Linux (Kubuntu 7.10) - First mission won't load, can't leave geoscape...
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2007, 04:03:29 pm »
no, just make sure, that you are using the latest ufo2map