project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: I have models. What now?  (Read 5495 times)

FelixFelix

I have models. What now?
« on: July 30, 2007, 02:18:49 am »
Hi there,

i decided to model some stuff for this lovely project. After seven hours of modeling with Inivis AC3D i realize that the export-function seems not to be working. When i open the MD2 files, they are untextured and less fine then in the original source-file.
I am not a total pro, i just started, but i really would like to help with something...
Please tell me if i can continue using inivis and send them to you like this. I am also not sure if the textures are right or the scaling. But the stuff looks kinda sweet, i find. Would be a shame to throw this away...

Greatings

Felix

Hoehrer

I have models. What now?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2007, 09:49:09 am »
I think the best way to exchange (unanimated -  Animated stuff is more tricky) 3D files is to use the .obj (Wavefront) format.
You don't need to bother with the md2-export, we can do that for you once the models are accepted for the project.
If you have any troubles with models just PM me.

Since I do not know AC3D I can only guess what happened in your md2 export, but that the exported md2 files are untextured might not be a problem at all. I think the textures might just not be loaded (i.e. The UV map is ok but not used with an image).
Also the md2 format does not support polygons with more than 3 vertices/edges (i.e. tris only) - this might be your "messed up" geometry, the exporter will most likely triangulated the mesh.

Concerning the quality of the model and texture I think that'll have to be checked by Winter. I suggest to post images of your models here and prepare to get critics :)

Cheers,
Werner

inquisiteur2

I have models. What now?
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2007, 11:38:02 am »
May I suggest that you post a few screenshots of your model since Winter is supposed to give his appreciation before including the model into the game.