project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.  (Read 14875 times)

Offline blondandy

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 391
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2007, 07:31:07 pm »
just to confirm.

The second broken sav I reported in this thread happenned when
-I had no aircraft out
-I had one base and one dropship.

So I think there are more critters out there to be eliminated.

Offline Zenerka

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2007, 01:43:58 pm »
I've updated first post in this topic about new testinstaller and updated binaries. More testing needed. Thanks for your help.

Offline blondandy

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 391
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2007, 02:52:09 pm »
I am using 2.1.1 with updated binaries from this morning 22 April.

I have got through quite a few missions, with no broken saves :D

marvelous work.

inquisiteur2

  • Guest
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2007, 03:41:35 pm »
So far this is my 4th download and each time I fail opening the file. Sometimes it cuts me before 100 megs, and on my last download I managed to download the whole thing but file was corrupt...Im trying again.

ok worked this time.

Offline smalul

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #19 on: April 22, 2007, 06:02:27 pm »
OK, I've downloaded ufo.exe and 0ufos.pk3, and replaced the original files in my installed directory. I'm guessing you changed the load/save system again, because if I try to load a game saved with the original version 2.1.1 (April 20th), the game crashes. Here is a picture of the crash:




Actually, I'm posting here because I found another bug in the load/save system of the original 2.1.1. beta (April 20th). I have no idea if you fixed this bug already (like I said - I can't load any of the older saved games), but just in case you haven't, here is the bug: When I try to load a certain saved game, I get an "Assertion failed!" crash. Here is the picture of the crash:

If I press retry, I get a full game crash:

Let me know if you need a copy of the saved game which causes this crash.

I hope I don't bother you with this bug too much, and if you already located and fixed it - I'm sorry.

Offline smalul

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2007, 06:42:53 pm »
Another "Error in loading a subsystem", this time with version 2.1.1 from April 22th, 2007 (the version you released today, I just replaced the 2 files like it was written).
The log:
Code: [Select]
====== UFO Initialized ======

Loading savegame
...version: 1
...game version: 2.1.1
Global data loaded - size (null)u bytes
...techs: 132
...buildings: 18
...ranks: 8
...nations: 8

Load 'slot0'
...subsystem 'base' - loaded 5715 bytes
Initializing aircraft and aircraft-items ...
...aircraft and aircraft-items inited
Activate stage intro
...subsystem 'campaign' - loaded 256 bytes
...subsystem 'hospital' - loaded 2 bytes
...subsystem 'market' - loaded 2176 bytes
...subsystem 'research' - loaded 6331 bytes
...subsystem 'employee' - loaded 13067 bytes
...subsystem 'aliencont' - loaded 0 bytes
...subsystem 'production' - loaded 48 bytes
...subsystem 'aircraft' - loaded 1 bytes
...subsystem 'messagesystem' - loaded 992 bytes
...subsystem 'messagesystem' could not be loaded correctly - savegame might be broken (e1)
Changing to Singleplayer

Offline Zenerka

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2007, 06:56:22 pm »
smalul, but you tries the new game, not old loads from previous testinstaller, do you? The old loads won't work because of bugfixes we introduced.

Offline smalul

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2007, 07:53:42 pm »
Quote from: "Zenerka"
smalul, but you tries the new game, not old loads from previous testinstaller, do you? The old loads won't work because of bugfixes we introduced.

I don't quite understand your question, but I have installed today's update (you really should give each version a different number, and not refer to the release date as the version).
Anyway, my last post is about a bug in the latest release - the one from April 22th. I had that bug in version 2.1.1 from April 20th as well.

The post before that one (the post with the pictures) refers to version 2.1.1 from April 20th. I wrote I have no way of knowing if you fixed that bug or not, because the problematic saved games  won't work in version 2.1.1 from April 22th.

Offline Zenerka

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #23 on: April 22, 2007, 08:08:38 pm »
My question is: did you load the savegame saved in 2.1.1 from April 20th to 2.1.1 from April 22th? Or the last bug you mentioned is in a completely new singleplayer game started in 2.1.1 from April 22th from the scratch?

Offline smalul

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #24 on: April 22, 2007, 09:25:02 pm »
You can't load games from the April 20th version in the April 22th version - this would cause a crash.
The last bug I reported happened in version 2.1.1 from April 22th (as I wrote), and it was a completely new game.

Here is a link for the file itself:
http://files-upload.com/183223/slot0.sav.html
I hope this helps.

inquisiteur2

  • Guest
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #25 on: April 22, 2007, 11:14:39 pm »
I dont know if im supposed to post this issue in this thread but after the 2nd mission on difficult settings (it was in Guana i think i south africa) i lost the mission and had a CTD.

Going from from a tactical map to option menu (by pressin ESC) and going to "options" CTD too. (this was on first farm map on difficult settings).

In fact everytime now I go on option menu i have CTD...I wonder where this can come from. Once my computer restarted i was able to access option menu again.

(i am using last version 2.1.1) as from April 22nd.

Offline Zenerka

  • Sergeant
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2007, 03:30:16 pm »
smalul, additional question, which language do you use in game?

Offline smalul

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2007, 05:12:23 pm »
Quote from: "Zenerka"
smalul, additional question, which language do you use in game?

Well, by default "set s_language" was set to "", which gave me no text in the intro and research screens, so after searching the forum here, I've learned I had to edit config.cfg and set "set s_language" to "en_GB" to see the texts in English (I haven't seen any option to change the language while playing). I hope this helps.

Offline smalul

  • Rookie
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #28 on: April 23, 2007, 09:44:26 pm »
OK, I've managed to get that "Assertion failed!" with version 2.1.1 from April 22th (couldn't you just called it version 2.1.2?). Here is part of the log:
Saving a game:
Code: [Select]
CL_UpdateHireVar()... aircraft idx: 0, homebase: PHALANX HQ
Activate stage ufos_are_coming
CL_UpdateHireVar()... aircraft idx: 0, homebase: PHALANX HQ
Save 'slot2'
...subsystem 'base' - saved 5963 bytes
...subsystem 'campaign' - saved 348 bytes
...subsystem 'hospital' - saved 2 bytes
...subsystem 'market' - saved 2176 bytes
...subsystem 'research' - saved 6331 bytes
...subsystem 'employee' - saved 31661 bytes
...subsystem 'aliencont' - saved 0 bytes
...subsystem 'production' - saved 22 bytes
...subsystem 'aircraft' - saved 1 bytes
...subsystem 'messagesystem' - saved 28661 bytes
...subsystem 'stats' - saved 28 bytes
...subsystem 'nations' - saved 32 bytes
Campaign 'Shai49' saved.


After that save, I've built a second base with 2 radar stations (and the basics - power plant, living quarters...), as well as adding 2 more radar to my first base. Then I saved it:
Code: [Select]
CL_UpdateHireVar()... aircraft idx: 0, homebase: PHALANX HQ
Save 'slot3'
...subsystem 'base' - saved 11463 bytes
...subsystem 'campaign' - saved 348 bytes
...subsystem 'hospital' - saved 2 bytes
...subsystem 'market' - saved 2176 bytes
...subsystem 'research' - saved 6331 bytes
...subsystem 'employee' - saved 31661 bytes
...subsystem 'aliencont' - saved 0 bytes
...subsystem 'production' - saved 22 bytes
...subsystem 'aircraft' - saved 1 bytes
...subsystem 'messagesystem' - saved 28737 bytes
...subsystem 'stats' - saved 28 bytes
...subsystem 'nations' - saved 32 bytes
Campaign 'Shai50' saved.


Then I got a few of these errors:
Code: [Select]
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
B_GetNumberOfBuildingsInBaseByTypeIDX: Bad base-index given: 2 (numbases 2)
CL_UpdateHireVar()... aircraft idx: 0, homebase: PHALANX HQ
CL_UpdateHireVar()... aircraft idx: 0, homebase: PHALANX HQ


Then I decided to reload the game I just saved:
Code: [Select]
Loading savegame
...version: 1
...game version: 2.1.1
Global data loaded - size (null)u bytes
...techs: 132
...buildings: 18
...ranks: 8
...nations: 8

Load 'slot3'
...subsystem 'base' - loaded 11463 bytes
Initializing aircraft and aircraft-items ...
...aircraft and aircraft-items inited
Cmd_AddCommand: popup_aircraft_action_click already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: ships_click already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: ships_rclick already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: multi_select_click already defined
Activate stage intro
Activate stage ufos_are_coming
...subsystem 'campaign' - loaded 348 bytes
...subsystem 'hospital' - loaded 2 bytes
...subsystem 'market' - loaded 2176 bytes
...subsystem 'research' - loaded 6331 bytes
...subsystem 'employee' - loaded 31661 bytes
...subsystem 'aliencont' - loaded 0 bytes
...subsystem 'production' - loaded 22 bytes
...subsystem 'aircraft' - loaded 1 bytes

And then there was that crash. Actually, it's not really a crash, but it refers you to the C++ debugger (if you have one installed), and if you choose to reply, then you get the crash screen.

Here is a link to slot3.sav save, which cause this problem:
http://www.filefactory.com/file/f2ef1b/
This should help you locate the problem, as it should take you directly to the debugger.

[EDIT] If I choose Ignore, I get a "Error in loading a subsystem" error. Here is the ufoconsole.log for that case:
Code: [Select]
Load 'slot3'
...subsystem 'base' - loaded 11463 bytes
Initializing aircraft and aircraft-items ...
...aircraft and aircraft-items inited
Cmd_AddCommand: popup_aircraft_action_click already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: ships_click already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: ships_rclick already defined
Cmd_AddCommand: multi_select_click already defined
Activate stage intro
Activate stage ufos_are_coming
...subsystem 'campaign' - loaded 348 bytes
...subsystem 'hospital' - loaded 2 bytes
...subsystem 'market' - loaded 2176 bytes
...subsystem 'research' - loaded 6331 bytes
...subsystem 'employee' - loaded 31661 bytes
...subsystem 'aliencont' - loaded 0 bytes
...subsystem 'production' - loaded 22 bytes
...subsystem 'aircraft' - loaded 1 bytes
...subsystem 'messagesystem' - loaded 28831 bytes
...subsystem 'messagesystem' could not be loaded correctly - savegame might be broken (ffffffff)
Changing to Singleplayer


And just in case - here is the previous save:
http://www.filefactory.com/file/f566f6/
I saved just before building the second base with the 2 radar station, and before adding a radar station to my first base. This save Is working fine.
[/EDIT]

To sum all my posts so far - I've managed to get 2 different errors with both versions of version 2.1.1 (from April 20th and April 22th) - 1. "Error in loading a subsystem" error. 2. "Assertion failed!" Error and crash.

I'm sorry for all my posts here, but you did ask people to post about errors in the loading/saving system. I just hope something good will come out of all this.

Offline Mattn

  • CaveExpress
  • Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4830
  • www.caveproductions.org
    • View Profile
    • CaveExpress
Testing request: 2.1.1 testinstaller.
« Reply #29 on: April 23, 2007, 10:26:02 pm »
Quote
I'm sorry for all my posts here, but you did ask people to post about errors in the loading/saving system. I just hope something good will come out of all this.


Really no need to excuse - we need those reports - thank you

just make sure that you are using new savegames for every new binary - e.g don't use savegames from 20.04 binaries and try to load them into 22.04 binaries. that won't work