UFO:Alien Invasion

Development => Mapping => Topic started by: lfloden on December 15, 2006, 03:09:38 am

Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: lfloden on December 15, 2006, 03:09:38 am
Won't compile, does the d.bsp file then crashes ufo2map.
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on December 15, 2006, 10:12:38 am
which version? current trunk?
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: lfloden on December 15, 2006, 07:42:14 pm
yes 2.1 most current. I saw that it was updated today, but when I ran the compile.pl again it still crashed

Error was

MAXPATCHES
GetLastError() = 0
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on December 30, 2006, 06:50:15 pm
hm. that map is quite big - but it compiles fine here
Title: Hmmm, still won't now I get this
Post by: lfloden on January 03, 2007, 02:29:19 am
Error

numvertexes == MAX_MAP_VERTS
GetLastErr() = 2
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on January 03, 2007, 09:56:40 am
can you please give us your system specs?
Title: Specs
Post by: lfloden on January 04, 2007, 12:13:40 am
Windows XP SP2
HP Compaq nx9600 laptop
3.0 GHz Hyper-threading
2 GB RAM
ATI Radeon X300 with 64 MB VRAM


Need anything else?
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on January 04, 2007, 12:28:22 am
really strange - is ufo2map using both cpu's (virtuell cpu's)
maybe it is a threading problem...
Title: Multi-threaded
Post by: lfloden on January 06, 2007, 02:23:31 am
Trying to compile the new africa04 map it gave this error,

MAX_MAP_LEAFFACES
GetLastError() = 2

It did use both "processors".
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on January 06, 2007, 08:54:29 am
hm. you could try to start ufo2map with -threads 1

or you could use the mappack on mattn.ninex.info for now. sorry but it's hard to find a bug that doesn't occur for me.
Title: Any one else have this issue?
Post by: lfloden on February 20, 2007, 06:17:14 am
Accidently posted this to the wrong thread at first

Each time I compile a new ufo2map I get something different. This is what the message is now.

Error opening c:\ufoai\base\maps\./b/a/lab: No such file or directory
GetLastError () = 2

This is the data that was in the compile.pl window

=====================================================
Mapcompiler for UFO:AI (http://sf.net/projects/ufoai)
Giving base/maps as parameter or start from base/maps
will compile all maps were no bsp-file exists
Keep in mind that ufo2map needs to be in path
=====================================================
...entering .
...found dir b
...entering ./b
...found dir a
...entering ./b/a
..already compiled aliencont
..already compiled commando
..already compiled drop
..already compiled drop_b
..already compiled empty
..already compiled entrance
..already compiled hospital
..already compiled intercept
..found ./b/a/lab
---- ufo2map 1.0 ----
subdivide_size = 32.000000
light bounces = 0
extrasamples = true
Title: thread -1
Post by: lfloden on February 20, 2007, 06:28:39 pm
How do I run ufo2map with the thread -1? Can the compile.pl be changed to use only one?
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on February 20, 2007, 07:42:03 pm
yes, you can change the compile.pl and just add that parameter to the list.
Title: Got the thread in there,
Post by: lfloden on February 21, 2007, 05:40:21 am
but still having a problem with the whole directory not found, even though the files are there.
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on February 21, 2007, 08:20:12 am
the latest revision should fix this problem
Title: That fixed the directory problem, but....
Post by: lfloden on February 22, 2007, 02:04:50 am
Now I get this...

MAX_MAP_LEAFFACES
GetLastError() = 2

I added this to the compile.pl

my $extra = "-bounce 0 -chop 32 -extra -threads 1";

to tell it to use one thread. It is only running at 50% now for the CPU"s" so I think the thread problem is fixed, plus it is a different error now.
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on February 22, 2007, 11:07:28 am
please retry with the latest revision - this would give a little better error message (prints the overflow int) - maybe this would help me to track this bug down
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: lfloden on February 23, 2007, 05:40:40 am
Here is the perl screen

Giving base/maps as parameter or start from base/maps
will compile all maps were no bsp-file exists
Keep in mind that ufo2map needs to be in path
=====================================================
Running at: MSWin32
Found ufo2map in "../../ufo2map.exe"
...entering .
..found ./africa04d
---- ufo2map 1.0 ----
subdivide_size = 32.000000
light bounces = 0
extrasamples = true
...map: 'C:\UFOAI\base\maps\./africa04d.map'
...bsp: 'C:\UFOAI\base\maps\./africa04d.bsp'
entering C:\UFOAI\base\maps\./africa04d.map
Entity 0, Brush 43: mixed face contents (f: 1, 65025)
Entity 0, Brush 44: mixed face contents (f: 1, 65025)
Entity 0, Brush 221: mixed face contents (f: 1, 65281)
Entity 0, Brush 222: mixed face contents (f: 1, 65281)
Entity 0, Brush 223: mixed face contents (f: 1, 65281)
Entity 0, Brush 224: mixed face contents (f: 1, 65281)
Entity 0, Brush 225: mixed face contents (f: 1, 65281)
Entity 0, Brush 525: mixed face contents (f: 65025, 1)
Entity 0, Brush 526: mixed face contents (f: 65025, 1)
0...

And here is the error..

MAX_MAP_LEAFFACES (65536)
GetLastError() = 2
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on February 23, 2007, 06:59:41 am
which compiler are you using to compile ufo2map? dev-cpp (gcc)? visualC?
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: lfloden on February 25, 2007, 02:36:41 am
dev-cpp

I don't even see it in the ufo_8 project for Visual C++.
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: lfloden on February 25, 2007, 11:10:06 pm
OK, I finally dug a little and ran the command line for ufo2map rather than use compile.pl and it appears to be running just fine. So I think the problem might be in compile.pl

I changed this line in compile.pl and it seems to be working better...

my $extra = "-bounce 0 -threads 1 -extra ";

I got rid of the -chop 32 or was it chomp? and moved the -threads 1 before the -extra. And it is only using 1 thread now.
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: Mattn on February 26, 2007, 07:04:59 am
if the chop was or is the reason, could you please also try to remove the -threads 1 parameter?
Title: Bridge01 map
Post by: lfloden on February 27, 2007, 03:31:06 am
With the -thread 1 out of there it still works, only uses one CPU though. That I don't mind. At least it is fixed now.