UFO:Alien Invasion

General => User modifications => Topic started by: NicSO on February 16, 2014, 11:37:22 pm

Title: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 16, 2014, 11:37:22 pm
CL_ParseParticle: particle def "fireImpact" with same name found, reset first one

Com_ParseItem: MAX_OBJDEFS exceeded

Where did I made mistake? Btw. Im working on a saboted slug for grenade launcher!

// =======================
// GRENADE LAUNCHER
// =======================
item grenl_sabot_ammo
{
   name         "_25mm Saboted Grenades"
   model         "weapons/grenl_sabot_clip/grenl_sabot_clip"
   type         "ammo"
   animationindex   0
   shape         "0 0 1 1"
   center         "0 0 0"
   scale         0.7
   price         135
   size         6
   is_primary      true
   is_heavy      true
   dmgtype         "normal"
   weight         1.0

   weapon_mod
   {
      weapon grenl
      firedef
      {
         name                   "_Snap Shot"
         skill                   "close"
         projtl                    bullet
         impact            bulletImpact
         hitbody            null
         firesnd            "weapons/bullet-shotgun"
         impsnd            "impact/bullet-impact"
         bodysnd                  "impact/bullet-bodyimpact"
         speed            3000
         spread            "2.5 2.5"
         crouch            0.9
         range            10
         shots            8
         ammo            1
         delaybetweenshots   0
         time            12
         damage            "150 5"
         dmgweight         "normal_medium"
         reaction         true
      }
   }
}
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: DarkRain on February 17, 2014, 01:26:55 am
How many items have you already added? There's a hard limit for the number of objects in the game, you might have exceeded it with this one (bug #5165 (http://ufoai.org/bugs/ufoalieninvasion/issues/5165))
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 01:40:17 am
Yea....with this...8...thats the reason...so this is some kind of a bug? I hope it will be solved soon.

Thnx.

Until then I will use my time for translation.
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: Duke on February 17, 2014, 04:47:34 am
2.5 or 2.6 ?
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 06:31:18 am
2.5
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: ShipIt on February 17, 2014, 06:34:46 am
Could also happen in case you made a backup of the original file without changing the extension. The game parses all .ufo files it can find.

Also, in case you took the e.g. weapons.ufo and use a copy of this file as /mods/mymod/myweapons.ufo this will also essentially end up in the game parsing the same file twice.
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: Duke on February 17, 2014, 07:12:55 am
NicSO, as I wrote in the above mentioned bug report, I am willing to carefully raise that limit, but not for 2.5.
Do you use git ?
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 09:40:09 am
Shiplt thnx for additional info.

Duke, yes, I have git account - I made it for translating purposes for now.
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: Duke on February 17, 2014, 11:06:47 am
Uhm...I meant: do you pull from the git repo and compile your own exe ?
Or just using the nightlies ?
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: AntJam on February 17, 2014, 02:53:13 pm
Ah the dreaded 7 items or less. I'll still be available to help test as well now I've sorted out my compile problems
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: Duke on February 17, 2014, 03:37:12 pm
Increased the limit by two in master.
Happy testing ;)
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 07:37:12 pm
Increased the limit by two in master.
Happy testing ;)

:)

I have new problem:

ERROR: model models/weapons/grenl/grenl_sabot_clip.md2 broken offset values (1656, 1632)

btw. AntJam thnx for help!!!

Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 07:37:47 pm
Uhm...I meant: do you pull from the git repo and compile your own exe ?
Or just using the nightlies ?

Just using nightlies!
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 08:05:07 pm
Offset problem solved, now I have new problem. I modified grenl_flachette_clip.md2 file but when I try to equip soldiers and when I click on heavy weapons....CTD occurs :(

I renamed file to grenl_sabot_clip, modified it in blender as AntJam suggested.
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 08:08:15 pm
...
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 10:10:20 pm
I lost hours on this, when I remove saboted slugs for grenade launcher from weapons_human...then it works. Ufopedia always works adn shows model as it should,.

Clicking on grenade launcher in ufopedia is causing also ctd. I really do now know where is my mistake. Im going insane :D
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 17, 2014, 11:02:17 pm
It seems that max number of ammo per weapon is 3. My mod is working ok when I remove one of the existing Grenade launcher ammo....can this be modded?

Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: DarkRain on February 18, 2014, 12:20:35 am
You've found another hardcoded limit: 4 ammos per weapon (GL already has 4)

As I said, it is hardcoded, and trying to increase it seems to cause a crash (see bug 5283 (http://ufoai.org/bugs/ufoalieninvasion/issues/5283)), we are investigating the issue

Edit:
Could also happen in case you made a backup of the original file without changing the extension. The game parses all .ufo files it can find.

Also, in case you took the e.g. weapons.ufo and use a copy of this file as /mods/mymod/myweapons.ufo this will also essentially end up in the game parsing the same file twice.
Just for the record: while the above is true — the game will parse the file twice — when the game finds more than one item with the same id, it will discard all definitions after the first one (it will still generate a lot of error messages of course)
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 18, 2014, 06:17:57 am
You've found another hardcoded limit: 4 ammos per weapon (GL already has 4)

As I said, it is hardcoded, and trying to increase it seems to cause a crash (see bug 5283 (http://ufoai.org/bugs/ufoalieninvasion/issues/5283)), we are investigating the issue

Edit:Just for the record: while the above is true — the game will parse the file twice — when the game finds more than one item with the same id, it will discard all definitions after the first one (it will still generate a lot of error messages of course)

I concluded it is hardcoded after almost 4 hrs :D I thought I made mistake somewhere so I was cheking everything over and over again, then I decided to remove flachette grenades and I was laughing to myself :D
Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 19, 2014, 05:50:42 pm
New problem!

Im working on a new ufo based on ufo fighter. I edited *.md2 files from models\geocape and aircraft. I also added new ufo fighter to aircraftmanagement.ufo, research.ufo and aircraft.ufo in msgid.

I placed all files in mod folder, game boots but when I click on campaign I get:

unknown craft_ufo_fightermk2

I think I made mistake in one of the *.md2 files but I wanna know if that is the case as I dont wanna lost hours again on error searching :)


Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 19, 2014, 06:43:06 pm
I triple checked, my *md2 files are all ok. I missed something and I dont know what.

Title: Re: Im working on a mod and I get this msg in console when game is starting/booting:
Post by: NicSO on February 19, 2014, 07:33:41 pm
I checked all files in 0ufos and added new ufo accordingly based on original ufo fighter but I still get same error?!

Taking a break now...beer with my skydiving buddies...maybe Ill get inspiration :D