project-navigation
Personal tools

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - mor2

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10
16
Discussion / Re: crouching down
« on: November 04, 2010, 10:52:31 am »
yes but, modern weapons has very low spread, if you equip it on stationary platform and shoot 10 consecutive shots for 50-100 meters you are most likely to hit the same spot.
so when we speak about spread we mostly speak about recoil effects, static values like the weapons compensation mechanism and dynamic you and how you react.

thus for one aimed shot when you dont need to require the same spot to shoot again the effects of "weapon precision" should be minimal.
you can say that in other positions it easier to shoot multiple single shot but brust, its mostly how you compensate ( "accuracy" or weapon handling)

17
Discussion / Re: crouching down
« on: November 04, 2010, 10:14:15 am »
so gamewise, can i say that accuracy is your chance to hit the target while precision is your chance to hit multiple times.
if so its means that sitting improves your chance to hit target using half/full auto but it doesnt matter if you going for a single shot  ???

18
Newbie Coding / Re: UI Adjustments.
« on: November 03, 2010, 08:47:07 pm »
Code: [Select]
*node.root.radiobutton@onClick = { cmd "actor_select <cvar>;" }Which should substitute the syntax with the value of the cvar property, which should be the value of the cvar. BTW, there is no "dynamic" nasted/inner function, the nasted function is compiled at parsing time (you can't use status of the parent function to the nasted function).
not sure i understand this part.

and can i use your example from few post back?
Code: [Select]
*cvar:temp = <1>
*node.root.radiobutton@onClick = { cmd "actor_select <cvar:temp>;" }
delete *cvar:temp


Quote
"@" is to access to properties, "." is to access nodes, then *node.parent.parent@function, if the function is an event property, *node.parent.parent.function ifthefunction is a func/confunc node.
obviously, i just wasnt sure if i can use call *node.parent.parent.function (got an error that it couldnt be located), so i made a guess that a node has a parent property, which makes *node.parent@parent valid and so maybe i can use its value, maybe i should have written it like that (*node.parent@parent).function    anyway NM, i'll just double check it.

19
Artwork / Re: Submision Orbital Activity
« on: November 03, 2010, 07:48:06 pm »
i like it, maybe it could shoe little bit mor space and use some details like speed estimation, trajectory, ship measurement, map scale
or more exactly some green unreadable mambo jambo around(since we cannot make it language specific) to make it look more scientific

20
we can also try to avoid those once square wide paths, where they serve no tactical purpose, for example near spawn point as in the above screenshot, this will greatly reduced such problems.

21
Newbie Coding / Re: UI Adjustments.
« on: November 03, 2010, 06:03:30 pm »
i still dont understand the difference between the syntax *cvar:i and <cvar:i> the first is a reference the second is its value
or is < > used to inject data into a string for example  "actor_select <cvar:i>;" mayne something instead the old "actor_select" + string(<cvar:i>) +";"

and what does "*cvar:i"  or is it "<cvar:i>" means, that you ask to do, pass the info as a string  ???


also when i pass it as parameter, if use:
call *node.root.whatever (*cvar:i)

func whatever{
*node.root.radiobutton@cvar = <1>  its ok because i assign the reference as needed but then how do i pass it value in onClicK?
*node.root.radiobutton@onClick = { cmd "actor_select <1>;" } this doesnt work.

should i call it like this  ???
*node.root.radiobutton@onClick = { cmd "actor_select <<1>>;" }


also can i use  call *node.parent.parent.function  or *node.parent@parent.function  or something like it?

22
Newbie Coding / Re: UI Adjustments.
« on: November 03, 2010, 12:40:55 pm »
then you are looking at the wrong functions, a.hud already does this, here what you need:
Code: [Select]
confunc startreactionmany { }
confunc startreactionmany_impos { }
confunc startreactiononce { }
confunc startreactiononce_impos { }
confunc deselect_reaction { }
confunc disable_reaction { }
just make it a radio button and flip states, its easy.

p.s. great looking graphics, "pixel hack" my ass,  compared to me you are a grand master ;D

23
Newbie Coding / Re: UI Adjustments.
« on: November 03, 2010, 10:38:16 am »
that because of what i told you before, its only a script they didnt exported all the function to us, only those that were needed, for example didnt you wonder how actor_select X works?

in this case its simple they have listeners, so in the event of change to specific params they are monitor an update functions are called. in this case the function called  HUD_RefreshButtons, which receives the current actor "information" (its located in cl_hud) and its calls the appropriate functions you know.

24
Discussion / Re: UFO pedia
« on: November 03, 2010, 10:00:22 am »
this only explains the the unused space in 5, not solving the problem, for example even if we get rid of all the clutter and annoyances mentioned in 1-4 we still get only 42% of the ufopedia area dedicated to data, here is a suggestion how a simple adjustment can make it better.

also we have a lot of space above the tabs, what about the old next/previous research buttons?


@Kildor, you dont make sense, what is the difference between the pictures attached or this way? attached picture showed in the same manner only in an unorganized mess at the bottom, anyway i made just links for you.

25
Discussion / UFO pedia
« on: November 03, 2010, 12:54:57 am »
i just looked at the ufoPedia screen and wanted to share a few things i noticed.

1. 2. 3.

1. does it really necessary to write all that stuff? to me it feels like clutter that force me to scroll each time.
2. cant we remove it, so the entry starts like this and add the signed at the end and all the clearance stuff on the main ufo pedia page (3)

4. 5.

4. transparency is nice but sometimes it just get in the way and ruine nice models we have, with noticeable clutter.
maybe we should change the background alpha a little or add some solid panel for the models?
5. why dont we use the full screen, some of our research art (alien base, etc) is so minimized that its barely seen, so we can see a panel that has no use (you cannot click it) and gives no relevant information at all, cant we stretch ufoPeda? so more of the art and text be visible?!

6. i would like to suggest again, that event will be added to the message options, simple text line in a log its not how you suppose to find out that your scientist had made a new breakthrough into the alien psyche, am i right?

26
Newbie Coding / Re: UI Adjustments.
« on: November 02, 2010, 11:58:55 pm »
nice, i can sure save a lot of space on redundant config and make it more easily adjustable and readable.

as for the updated code, will this do or should i still wait for another day for more updated binaries?

btw, about onInit, i assume that it supposed to be called automatically upon creation but in that script unless i called it directly it never did  :-\

27
Windows / Re: Win32 Development Binary Installer Links
« on: November 02, 2010, 11:55:58 pm »
thanks!  btw please forgive my ignorance but what does it means, that this release is marked as DEBUG ?

28
Newbie Coding / Re: UI Adjustments.
« on: November 02, 2010, 08:09:37 pm »
I fix it in the master, but please, quote the cvar value you want to set:
Code: [Select]
*node:parent.tab<cvar:i>.bt_soldier@cvar = "*cvar:selected_soldier"

are you sure that is it, i just replaced my:
*node:parent.tab<cvar:i>.bt_soldier@cvar = *cvar:selected_soldier
with
*node:parent.tab<cvar:i>.bt_soldier@cvar = "*cvar:selected_soldier"
 and got the same error  ???

besides if you look at hud, this exactly how they use it without the " "   :(


and what is a component?

29
Newbie Coding / Re: UI Adjustments.
« on: November 02, 2010, 07:09:12 pm »
i seem to bump into somethin i cannot solve, the game keep quite on me with the error
Code: [Select]
Com_AlignPtr: can't align V_NULL
i found that excluding the two lines 94,95 allows me to load the game but then my radiobuttons dont work.
Code: [Select]
*node:parent.tab<cvar:i>.bt_soldier@value = (*cvar:i)
*node:parent.tab<cvar:i>.bt_soldier@cvar = *cvar:selected_soldier

i dont know if its a syntax problem (tried quite few combination on the value) or something else, i attached the script (just extract it into %appdata%/base/) if someone can look into it i'll appreciate it, thanks.

30
Newbie Coding / what are the font types?
« on: November 02, 2010, 06:49:42 pm »

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10