project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Minor flaws in this otherwise outstanding game  (Read 2069 times)

Offline sebtob

• Cannon Fodder
    • View Profile
Minor flaws in this otherwise outstanding game
« on: October 21, 2012, 05:00:58 pm »
Hey Guys

I've been playing UFO AI now since I think 2009 or 2010. And I still love to play it. I think you guys are doing an amazing job! The quality of this non-commercial(!) game is unbelievable!
I just want to say a big fat THANK YOU for creating this wonderful game!

But there are still some minor flaws that bother since the first time I played UFO, that I would like to discuss here. And I am curious if others are having the same experiences as me. And I am hoping someone might have some advice for me.

1. Repeating maps
Some maps are just beeing repeated way to often. I find myself quiting and reloading whenever a mission appears with the same map that I already played ten times that day. For example the map with the crashed scout next to the wooden house with the garage in front. It's really exhausting playing one and the same procedure again and again. And this whilest other maps barely ever occur. E.g. the gas station map. Havent seen this one in a half year (game play time). The game would be even more fun, if there was a little bit more variation.

2. Aliens do not get out of their UFO
Thats another thing that often makes me tired of playing the game. There are some maps where the whole tactic consists of spending round after round, walking up to the back of the UFO to invade it. On some maps this is always the sampe procedure because the UFO is obviously "parked" in a way that the aliens aren's mart enough to find the exit in the back. This is specially frustrating when this occurs on heavily repeated maps, like the map with the japanese stype houses.

3. Campaign content