project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: I'm here now where do I start?  (Read 3654 times)

Offline 7_down

• Cannon Fodder
    • View Profile
I'm here now where do I start?
« on: July 17, 2011, 12:09:35 pm »
Hello. I am a n00b and I always wanted to make computer games. I'm a computer science student. I've learned structured programming, c, and I'm halfway through learning object oriented programming, c++. I've also taken SQL but I don't think that's helpful unless you use it multiplayer somehow. So far my programming has been limited to the console. I'm also taking the first level of calculus. I intend to go all the way to linear algebra.

It is a personal goal in of mine to make computer games. I want to set down an idea or a story on paper and organize my friends into a semblance of a development team and make the games we have always wanted to play. To that effect I feel I need to understand everything about computer game development. I have come wanting to learn how to integrate various libraries such as a graphics engine, a network library, a physics library, and an AI library into the rest of the game code. I want to learn what I specifically need to plan for when I have an idea for a game. How is the user supposed to interact with the program? Is the game going to be deeply immersive or lightly coded and fast paced?