project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Advice for semi-noob?  (Read 3577 times)

Offline myname

• Cannon Fodder
    • View Profile
Advice for semi-noob?
« on: June 28, 2010, 07:23:57 pm »
Hey guys, I just started the game, and being a strategy/tactics vet, I'm picking up the mechanics of the 2.3 version quite quickly.

But there were issues that I encountered-most of which I've searched the forum for answers-but at last after no success I hope some kind people here can help. 

First, I have no idea what the hotkeys are, I'm guessing I can find them somewhere like options but haven't found them yet :/
Second, I can't seem to understand the concept of "reserve tu's for shooting" and "reaction fire."  I know what reaction fire is supposed to do after reading the flood of forum posts complaining that it does not work, but why exactly doesn't it work?  And what's the reserve tu's for shooting option and how does that change the gameplay mechanic? 

Despite these flaws the game is still very engrossing, a greater accomplishment because it was made by volunteers.  Keep up the good work and thanks for a great pastime :D

Offline Jarkill

• Rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Advice for semi-noob?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 09:07:41 pm »
Reserve TU's just temporary restricts the amount of tu's you can spend, so that you don't accidentally miscount and walk one step further, preventing you from shooting the enemy or whatever. Alternately means you don't have to count TU as you move.

I do believe hotkeys can be found if you go options -> show keys (at the bottom right). You can also change the keybindings there.

If we knew why reaction fire doesn't work, we would fix it.  :P

Offline Sarin

• Sergeant
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 09:10:11 pm »
Reaction fire works. Just the soldiers need some experience till they get good enough to use it.

Offline myname

• Cannon Fodder
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 09:13:59 pm »