project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Intercepting  (Read 4001 times)

strokerman

Intercepting
« on: February 06, 2008, 07:31:58 am »
So I just started playing the game, and within a short period a UFO starts buzzing around my base.  I launched my interceptors but they just sit by my base not doing anything. How do I get the interceptors to pursue an enemy UFO?

Thanks

Offline Mattn

• Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
  • https://github.com/mgerhardy/vengi
    • View Profile
    • Vengi Voxel Tools
Re: Intercepting
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2008, 09:02:43 am »
equip it with weapons and ammunition (and don't forget the shield - otherwise it wouldn't come far)

also it's a good idea to not use one interceptor for fighting one or more ufos

Woreczko

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2008, 11:51:12 am »
Shield?? You mean that jamming "Raven" thingy? It seems to help a bit. Unfortunately armour doesn`t make any difference, at least I never noticed any - if hit, my airships were always destroyed....

Which leads me to a brilliant thought: If the crashed UFOs can land, why can`t PHALANX`s ships? So that it was possible to rescue some survivors and gear. We could even have a mission "Secure the crash of PHALANX aircraft". If you refuse to secure the wreckage, aliens may hack into the aircraft`s black box and figure out the location of it`s home base. Which would lead to repeated assaults and the need to abandon the base.  :D

PS: Yeah, yeah, I know the answer - You are free to code it yourself and send the patch :'(

Offline kracken

• Squad Leader
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2008, 01:00:51 pm »
So I just started playing the game, and within a short period a UFO starts buzzing around my base.  I launched my interceptors but they just sit by my base not doing anything. How do I get the interceptors to pursue an enemy UFO?