project-navigation
Personal tools

Author Topic: Always lose air battles  (Read 5182 times)

Benedikt

Always lose air battles
« on: July 14, 2008, 04:40:19 pm »
I'm new to this game and I really love it.
But I always lose air battles. I encountered a lot harvesters and send my Stilletto and Saracen with Rocket pods and Missile launchers and cannons against the ufo but they always shoot me down. What am I doing wrong?

Offline BTAxis

• Administrator
  • PHALANX Commander
    • View Profile
Re: Always lose air battles
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 04:54:24 pm »
Are you using 2.2.1? I know 2.2 didn't have aircraft HP implemented.

Benedikt

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2008, 05:19:43 pm »
Yeah, I use 2.2.1
I'm also wondering why I sometimes can use all interceptors I have and sometimes only one. Do I need a hangar for each aircraft or is it sufficient to have a hangar for each type (small/large)?

PeterBBB

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2008, 06:26:31 pm »
I use 3 Saracens together. Sometimes lose one, but they always down the UFO. They are fitted with rockets, the gun thing (no aircraft missiles coz they alway seem to miss) targeting comp, ECM and armour.

Also, I wait until the UFO is within range of the base missile batteries, sometimes they down the UFO before my aircraft are up.

You will need extra hanger to have more than 3 fighter aircraft I think.

Pete

Offline Mayhem

• Rookie
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2008, 07:23:55 pm »
I very rarely lose a plane (in ordinary difficulty, at least).

Taking the advice of a previous poster, I have at each "interception base":

1 Saracen with armour and 2 ECM pods, plus 2 missile launchers.
3 Stillettos with no armour, 1 targeting computer, 2 missile launchers and a cannon.